Facebook Horizon: The long awaited massive multiplayer virtual reality online social network from Facebook is launching this month.

To find out more about Facebook Horizon I interviewed Paige Dansinger, a VR artist, who was involved with creating art & experiences in the early pre-alpha version of Horizon up until the present moment.

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io
5 min readSep 10, 2020

--

Article by Micah Blumberg, Journalist & Software Engineer

Facebook Horizon combines the massive multiplayer online world building such as seen in games like Minecraft & Roblox, with visual game scripting seen in the popular VR app Rec Room, and the online social chat experiences of apps like AltSpace & VR Chat. All in one.

I interviewed Paige Dansinger about Facebook Horizon.

I felt that Paige was the perfect person to learn about Facebook Horizon from because she has been an early pre-alpha tester creating some of the very first Horizon worlds that you will be able to explore when Horizon launches later this month.

Here is a link to the video interview

Here is a link to a webxr experience I created to accompany the interview, type the web address in the Oculus Browser in the Oculus Quest, it currently works with the Brave Browser on iOS, or the on the PC with the Chrome browser.

https://paigehorizon.glitch.me/

Try this out in the Oculus Browser on Oculus Quest. It works in the Brave Browser on iOS but not in Chrome or Safari on iOS. Its really meant to be experienced in your Oculus. Let the page load all the way first (give it a minute) then click on the enter VR button in the lower right corner) This webxr experience lets you navigate some TiltBrush Art by Paige Dansinger as you listen to her talk about Facebook Horizon. Feel free to share.

On Facebook Paige wrote: “In all honesty, when announced at OC6 last year I respectfully believed FB designed Horizon with me in mind… it’s like Mark Z looked right at me and said “Paige, I made this for you”.. I know they created it with everyone in mind, but inside I felt it was a personal gift. As a result of this generous (romantic fantasy) feeling I have way more dedication to the platform. Without insulting other platforms, this is the one that works best for me. I owe it so much.. it’s kept me sane and offered me escape, it’s brought me a new group of friends I feel like a family with, it’s been a lifeline offering me a schedule and purpose and a safe place for risk/failure/reward when everything irl has been so challenging this year. It’s been easy for me to look into a new horizon and create a foundation there that could be used to re-model the real world in a better way… I’ve accomplished things there I never could before from jumping off a cloud to successfully scripting.”

Here are a few more links to explore from Paige’s work.

Paige created a Roots & Herbs Garden Path” a 7-World Hop in Northern New Mexico that will lead you to:

1) Wild Strawberry Patch (most scripting so far)

2) Medicinal Herb Garden

3) Roots & Herbs Farm, 4 & 5)Two Peaks Day & Night, 6) Black Rock Hot Spring and more..

And she created a “Horizon Art School” https://www.facebook.com/paige.dansinger/videos/10159204165959467/?extid=1BU6AgjZXTsJsDBj&d=n

Dandelion Patch from MIT Hackathon

(AR dandelion Patch below activate with ARize)

Better World Museum in Rec Room

BetterWorldMuseum in Rec Room Playlist of Interviews with Teen Leaders

Presented at WHO + Create 2030

Local Paper (refresh page if paywall)

Creative Wellness Playlist

Paige wrote: “Presented at Digital Media Lab, Met Museum 2016 — BEFORE VR or Better World Museum this is what I was doing.. Very important in what I’m doing today”

Art in Round — Guggenheim

Museum Computer Network

Artist and Art Historian, Paige Dansinger, delivers this Video Presentation “Iot, New Technology, and Unconventional Social Media for Museums” as a plea to help make a better world. This is for the Museum Computer Network’s Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, MN (2015).

ARTnews Magazine

Cooper-Hewett on DrawArt

Gutai Exhibit Guggenheim

Paige wrote: “All this relates to my creation of Horizon Museum today — It is not random that I made a museum with art history in it..” http://paigedansinger.com/drawart-3

Paige wrote: “How I quit 3 jobs at a museum to dedicate myself to creative technology” http://paigedansinger.com/blog/2015/7/20/drawart-1

--

--

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io

Silicon Valley Global News: VR, AR, WebXR, 3D Semantic Segmentation AI, Medical Imaging, Neuroscience, Brain Machine Interfaces, Light Field Video, Drones