GDC 2018 / First Impressions

Kevin Kunze
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io
2 min readMar 19, 2018

As someone who’s been to numerous tech conferences (CES, NAB, SXSW, SVVR, VRLA), GDC has always stood apart from the flock. GDC or the Game Developers Conference is for obsessive gamers what the World Series of Poker is for gambling addicts. With dozens of new games hitting the market every quarter, GDC acts at the road map for the rest of the year.

This is my first year covering GDC not because I wasn’t interested in past years but mainly because I was afraid my wallet would evaporate into the ether of new VR headsets, fantasy RPGs, and other fun tech gadgets.

As someone who’s own a PS4 VR headset and currently owns a Oculus and HTC Vive, I consider myself quite the aficionado when it comes to HMDs (head mounted displays). My first stop at GDC will be the check out some of the new head sets hitting the market including the wireless HTC Focus which I had the brief opportunity to try at SXSW a couple weeks ago.

Other games I hope to check out during my GDC experience include Far Cry 5 (anything they have in terms of a demo or interactive), any and all VR games coming out in the next year, and new games being previewed for the Nintendo Switch (my favorite gaming tech gadget from 201&). Please write me a comment below if there’s another area or cool interactive demo you’d like me to film in 360 video. Thanks for reading and have a great day!

--

--