OC5 is a stormland of excitement! Nate Mitchell was interviewed about some of the exciting new games announced today at Oculus Connect 5

This article contains links to 4 interviews that I did on Oculus Connect 5. Including interviews with Ready at Dawn (Echo Combat), Insomniac Games (Stormland), and Phaser Lock (Final Assault)

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io
3 min readSep 26, 2018

--

Article by Micah Blumberg, Journalist, Analyst Researcher, Neurohacker

Nate Mitchell is the Co-Founder and Vice President of Product at Oculus. Nate is responsible for Oculus Rift product development.

Listen to Nate Mitchell here:

Some of the best software news at Oculus Connect 5 included:

  1. Oculus Studios Titles Defector (Twisted Pixel)
  2. It’s launching in 2019, at OC5 today they are showing a new level set in India which looks super cool! I’m really looking forward to playing it.

2. Echo Combat (Ready At Dawn)

It’s launching on November 15, 2018 for $9.99. I’ve played it and it’s excellent I had a lot of fun playing with other players. There is an open beta from September 26 to 29, and the beta is free.

I spoke to the folks at Ready at Dawn about Echo Combat. Listen here:

3. Lone Echo II / Lone Echo II Trailer Experience (Ready At Dawn)

It’s launching in 2019. There is 360 trailer experience available at oculus.com/lone-echo I watched this trailer on Oculus Go and it looks amazing. I know its a game but it would make an excellent movie! It was really well done!

4. Stormland (Insomniac Games)

When I started to write the entry to this title a voice in my head said “tell them it needs no introduction” I’m so enthusiastic about this game! I’m excited about all of these games but this one is the most coveted! It’s launching in 2019 it will be playable at PAX West 2018. I got to play this game and it’s AWESOME!!

I spoke to the folks at Insomniac Games about Stormland listen here:

5. Final Assault by Phaser Lock

It’s launching late 2018, at OC5 they are showing a new PvP mode. This game looks amazing, it was fun, and it’s very smart, this is what I have wanted in an RTS (Real Time Strategy) game for VR, although I’m not a pro RTS player I just like it.

I spoke to the folks at Phaser Lock about Final Assault listen here:

6. Space Junkies (Ubisoft) is launching late 2018

At OC5 they are showing off new content: a Mode: 2v2 King Mode, Maps: Canyon Chase, Dark Ice, Characters: Templar and Cray-Cray, Equipment: the medkit, and a new team-up feature. I can’t wait to try this it looks cool.

7. VOX Machinae (Space Bullet)

It’s launching September 26, 2018 — $24.99 Wow Exciting. I tried this game and it was so impressive! The attention to detail, the visuals, the feeling you get of actually being inside a giant mech. I feel like this kind of game only comes around every so often. It reminds me of back in 2016 maybe 2015 people were saying all these great things about Elite Dangerous, because it was really special, and it still is, but this is something that some players will love, not everyone, but I predict that some people will really get into it and have a ton of fun!

All these games are exciting. Thank you to Oculus for helping these companies bring their titles to your platforms!

--

--

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io

Silicon Valley Global News: VR, AR, WebXR, 3D Semantic Segmentation AI, Medical Imaging, Neuroscience, Brain Machine Interfaces, Light Field Video, Drones