Alembic

Distilling the essence of a word

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

--

Credit: Virgi17

Today’s New York Times Spelling Bee letters:

Art: Iva Reztok

A, C, E, I, L, M, and center B (all words must include B)

Merriam-Webster says…

Credit: merriam-webster.com

Silly little dictionary! Don’t you know that alembic can’t possibly be a word if The New York Times says it ain’t?

For a complete list of rejected words, check out the Spelling Bee Master.

What’s your favorite dord* from today’s puzzle?

My Two Cents

It’s a real shame that alembic was rejected from today’s list of valid answers. That’s because the word is a pangram: it contains each of the seven letters in the puzzle. In fact, it’s what Spelling Bee players call a perfect pangram because it uses each letter only once.

And it’s not like the Times has no clue what the word means. When I searched for the term in the paper’s web site, I got this:

--

--

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” ― Albert Einstein ▹ My column: https://medium.com/silly-little-dictionaryavionmedium@gmail.com