Cachalot

or, The Whale

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

--

Credit: pixabay.com

Today’s New York Times Spelling Bee letters:

Art: Iva Reztok

A, C, I, L, O, T, and center H (all words must include H)

Merriam-Webster says…

Credit: merriam-webster.com

Silly little dictionary! Don’t you know that cachalot can’t possibly be a word if The New York Times says it ain’t?

For a complete list of rejected words, check out the Spelling Bee Master.

What’s your favorite dord* from today’s puzzle?

My Two Cents

I got quite frustrated today while looking for the image that would grace the top of today’s column. I typed “cachalot” into Unsplash’s search feature and got zero results… as expected. I even tried cachalote with an E at the end, which in Spanish is the term used for sperm whale. But that didn’t work, either. So I switched to sperm whale. These were the first nine results:

--

--

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” ― Albert Einstein ▹ My column: https://medium.com/silly-little-dictionaryavionmedium@gmail.com