Damiana

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!
5 min readMay 14, 2021

--

Just in time for the weekend… an aphrodisiac!

Today’s New York Times Spelling Bee letters:

Art: Iva Reztok

A, C, D, I, M, Y, and center N (all words must include N).

Merriam-Webster says…

Credit: merriam-webster.com

Silly little dictionary! Don’t you know that damiana can’t possibly be a word if the New York Times says it ain’t?

For further fascinating facts, check out the Spelling Bee Master.

What’s your favorite dord* from today’s puzzle?

My Two Cents

The turner diffusa, or damiana, belongs to the family Passifloraceae. And that family has hundreds of other species. Two, however, stand out. One is the passion fruit (passiflora edulis), known to many and loved by a handful. The other is the maypop (passiflora incarnata), known to Texans and Adrian Holman, who read my article about it last month.

Now, if you want to know why these plants have the name “passion” in them, be like Adrian and read my…

--

--

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” ― Albert Einstein ▹ My column: https://medium.com/silly-little-dictionaryavionmedium@gmail.com