Dord

A frighteningly funny tale about a ghost word

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

--

Today’s New York Times Spelling Bee letters:

Art: Iva Reztok

I, M, O, R, T, Y and center D (all words must include D).

Merriam-Webster says…

Credit: Webster’s New International Dictionary, Second Edition

Silly little dictionary! Don’t you know dord can’t possibly be a word if the New York Times says it ain’t?

For further fascinating facts, check out the Spelling Bee Master.

What’s your favorite g.n.a.w. from today’s puzzle?

My Two Cents

One word of my favorite words in the entire English language is dord. The only problem is…

it’s not a word!

But, but, but… what about that screen shot above, with the definition? It’s not from Getty Images or Pixabay or even *gasp!* Unsplash!

Did I just spend the last four hours carefully photo-shopping an slice of dictionary to make my case today? Have I gone completely off…

--

--

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” ― Albert Einstein ▹ My column: https://medium.com/silly-little-dictionaryavionmedium@gmail.com