Figging

I’ve got your nose!

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

--

Photo by Braydon Anderson on Unsplash

Today’s New York Times Spelling Bee says:

Screenshotted by Iva Reztok

But Merriam-Webster claims…

Credit: merriam-webster.com

Silly little dictionary! Don’t you know that figging can’t possibly be a word if The New York Times says it ain’t?

For a complete list of rejected words, check out the Spelling Bee Master.

What’s your favorite dord* from today’s puzzle?

My Two Cents

As I’ve mentioned a few times in previous articles, one of my favorite things about writing this column (aside from having five regular readers) is that more often than not I learn something new every time I start looking into a word.

Today I definitely learned a lot of new things.

The first was that figging could be a noun. I figured it was probably the present participle of the verb fig, whatever fig the verb meant. And looking into that verb produced some surprising results.

--

--

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” ― Albert Einstein ▹ My column: https://medium.com/silly-little-dictionaryavionmedium@gmail.com