Wabble

A mysterious fly and its testicle-destroying children

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

--

Photo by Matthew LeJune on Unsplash

Today’s New York Times Spelling Bee letters:

Art: Iva Reztok

B, C, E, H, L, W, and center A (all words must include A)

Merriam-Webster says…

Credit: merriam-webster.com

Silly little dictionary! Don’t you know that wabble can’t possibly be a word if The New York Times says it ain’t?

For a complete list of rejected words, check out the Spelling Bee Master.

What’s your favorite dord* from today’s puzzle?

My Two Cents

I figured the tagline, or subtitle, to today’s article (“A mysterious fly and its testicle-destroying children”) might be a bit clickbait-ish, but it’s actually just a simplified version of the definition of wabble given by the dictionary.

So what does that have to do with the golf balls in the photo at the top of today’s column? Well, I was searching for an elegant way to convey testicles, or balls…

--

--

Avi Kotzer
Silly Little Dictionary!

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” ― Albert Einstein ▹ My column: https://medium.com/silly-little-dictionaryavionmedium@gmail.com