Brain Dump #2791

Megan Bidmead
Silly Thoughts
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2020
Photo by meo from Pexels

I need to have a bit of a brain dump.

Things on my mind:

  • I need to mow the grass in the front garden lest my neighbours judge us even more than I think they do currently
  • Also I need to tidy the back garden but I think there might be frogs living in the piles of leaves and if I disturb them by sweeping they might give me a little fright
  • Can I avoid Coronavirus, realistically? I work from home but my children are germ factories.
  • I know hand gel is next to useless but I have one in my bag, one on my desk, one in Chris’s bag, one in my daughter’s bookbag, and one hanging around the house in a giant tub (don’t shout at me, I already had most of them and our parents gave us the rest)
  • What does it matter (hand gelling) when people just breathe and cough in your face on public transport? This happened to my sister yesterday (some guy just spluttered right at her). I suggested she hand-gelled her whole face. Which she wasn’t so keen on. But she did avoid touching her face until she got home and washed it. People are gross, is what I’m saying.
  • I don’t like to think of my parents or Chris’s parents as ‘vulnerable’ but they are in the vulnerable age bracket.
  • I’m feeling quite vulnerable as it is.
  • Last week we drove home from a funeral. It rained so hard that Chris got a migraine from concentrating on the road. In the service station I tried not to touch anything and also tried not to cry whilst washing my hands and singing ‘happy birthday’ in my head twice. We got stuck in traffic on the M4 because a lorry caught fire (driver was fine) and then had a brief tour of the major roads of Newport.
  • We got home two hours later than normal. It’s the longest we’ve spent away from the kids for ages. I actually liked spending time with Chris (or I would have done if we weren’t mourning and tired).
  • It occurs to me that if the only time we get to spend with each other happens to be getting stuck on the motorway in the rain after a funeral than something is probably wrong and we need a date night soon.
  • I can’t believe this year so far.
  • I mean I really can’t believe it.
  • I’m avoiding writing pitches right now. I find pitching scary. It’s like going for very small job interviews again and again.
  • My parents have been married for 45 years. 45 YEARS! Apparently the engagement went like this:
    Dad: What are you doing next week?
    Mum: I dunno, why?
    Dad: Let’s get married!
    Mum: BUT WHAT WILL I WEAR?
  • Working from home is hard when you have two clingy children.
  • I hate chickenpox.
  • My friend brought me a care package the other day. It included: craft stuff for the kids, a colouring book, wine, chocolate, and crisps. I love her immensely.
  • I’d better get back to work.

Okay, brain dump done. Thanks!

--

--