Intense Political Fatigue

Megan Bidmead
Silly Thoughts
Published in
2 min readNov 28, 2019
https://unsplash.com/photos/1fn6qJQBsWE

I made a promise to myself after the last general election that I wouldn’t talk about politics on social media. I just wrote a furious tweet that completely breaks that promise.

Oops. I might lock my phone away for the next fortnight.

I don’t think I’ve ever felt so politically homeless in my life. Who do you want to run the country — a man who has totally abhorrent views on single mothers, or a man who allows antisemitism to run deep within his party?

Such attractive options.

For the first time ever I’m considering spoiling my vote. But that feels like such a waste. Mind you, where I live is a safe seat anyway, so it wouldn’t make much difference.

I haven’t blogged for a while, mostly because I’ve been busy with work and life, and also because I don’t feel like I’m in a good enough mood to poke fun at anything.

I really, really want the next couple of weeks to be over. At least we’ll know where we stand.

In the meantime I might just stop watching the news and replace it with something more useful. Cheesy Netflix Christmas movies? Old episodes of the Gilmore Girls? White noise and static? Something like that.

Anyway, I’ll be back in a couple of weeks when all this is over and I’ve got through my intense workload. Hopefully I’ll be feeling festive and not full of doom. ❤

--

--