summer of long naps and laziness

Megan Bidmead
Silly Thoughts
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2022
Photo by Pixabay from Pexels: https://www.pexels.com/photo/adult-book-boring-face-267684/

Hello. It’s been so long since I’ve written a blog post. How are you? I’ve just finished uni for the year, and so I have evenings again! Evenings in which to relax, and not be writing assignments or reading textbooks or crying my way through tutorials*

*okay that was just the one time

My general mood has been one of having just been kicked up the bum. I’ve suddenly realised that being a little nervous sheep is not the best way to go about life. Especially if you’re a freelancer. You have to be willing to barge your way into a room even if there’s no space. Just smash your way in there. So I’ve been incredibly proactive compared to normal.

It’s nice. Somewhere in secondary school I started to feel that I needed to just make myself be quiet and invisible as much as possible and I’ve never really grown out of it. I have to really force myself to be visible. But I’m doing it. Yay, me!

Anyway, no-one can see the sweating, lip-chewing mess I become while sending scary emails, which is the absolute best thing about working from home.

Now it’s my summer break from uni, I have time to relax a bit, and to not be constantly trying to get things done. Here are my evening plans:

  • working my way through the back catalogue of videogames I have been meaning to play
  • working my way through the back catalogue of books I have been meaning to read
  • working my way through the back catalogue of relaxing baths I’ve been meaning to have
  • re-watching Schitt’s Creek
  • re-watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  • Going to my friends houses to impose myself upon them
  • sleeping
  • lying on the sofa and staring at the ceiling
  • thinking about absolutely nothing of importance

Lazy girl summer. I can’t wait.

Lots of love to you all. ❤

--

--