This is just a plot twist

Megan Bidmead
Silly Thoughts
Published in
2 min readFeb 25, 2020
Photo by Anna Luganska on Reshot

We’ve had a pretty rough week. I don’t really want to go into it at this stage. Let’s just say: being a grown-up is hard. Being a grown-up in charge of two small children and trying to be normal whilst dealing with pain, confusion and stress is hard. Balancing work and life is hard.

Life is hard.

I’ve been keeping myself busy. I’ve got a lot of work to do, which helps. I’ve also started a Tumblr blog for my Sims playing (which is probably the nerdiest thing I’ve ever written outside of my Final Fantasy fan fiction phase), and I’ve signed up to Skillshare for two months to learn some new things.

Keeping busy is what I want. I want to start exercising. I want to cook. I want to bake bread. I want to go outside. I want to paint my kitchen. I want to hang up new pictures. I want to be busy, busy.

It’s hard to be still. If I think about things I feel sad, so I don’t allow for thinking.

Is that the right thing to do?

I’m still trying to work out Medium. Is it worth the effort? I’m so busy with my freelancing that I’m wondering if it’s worth pursuing it at all, but it does scratch a creative itch.

Anyway, that’s my update. Not really a Silly Thought, more of a sombre one …

I’ll be back to snarking soon.

--

--