Introducing Silverwings Coffee

Alec O'Grady
Silverwings Coffee
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2018

Since graduating high school, coffee has been a very important part of my life. My first job was in Starbucks, where I found a (very) basic understanding of coffee. I knew there was more to find, so I started researching. I was right, and started to quickly learn more about the industry and what coffee really is.

I went to work for various specialty shops across the West Coast in cities like San Francisco, Los Angeles & Portland. All have a very diverse coffee scene, and I learned a lot from each location.

After about 3 years of working in the coffee industry, I’m proud to say that I’m a knowledgable barista and I know A LOT about coffee. That’s when it all clicked for me.

I found that there wasn’t really any data on YouTube about coffee. There were videos that were 5+ years old about brewing coffee at home, and then it went into chill coffee house music playlists. But, nothing on the origin of coffee, how to taste coffee, the best shops in an area, etc…

Coffee is something most of the population drinks every day. So, why don’t they know more about it? Sure, it’s a bean, but did you know it’s actually a seed from a cherry plant, therefore making it a fruit? Probably not. And if you did, props!

But, that’s what I’m taking about. I’d like to share with the world my knowledge about the coffee industry. I want to cover everything like how coffee is grown, the best shops in various areas, interviews with people in the industry and what it takes to be a barista.

I also don’t know everything about coffee! There’s still so much for me to learn, and documenting that will help others learn, too. That’s what I want from Silverwings.

I chose the name Silverwings a few years ago when I was working with a coffee startup in Los Angeles. I was working an event and they gave me the freedom to name it and run it as if it was my own pop-up. I spent hours racking my brain for something that was meaningful to me. Finally, Silverwings came up.

Silverwings was the name of the street that I grew up on. I had a great life growing up with my parents and two older sisters in this amazing house. Once Silverwings came up, I stopped searching and knew that I found the right name.

Right now, my co-founder (Sadi Ingalina) and I are working hard on content to push out across all social media platforms. We’re excited for what’s to come and the impact we can make on the coffee industry. This is only the beginning.

--

--

Alec O'Grady
Silverwings Coffee

Photographer // Filmmaker // Digital Creator {Currently working for Braille Skateboarding in San Francisco}