The FANATEC Podium Advanced Paddle Module review (Attached to the Formula V2 Steering Wheel) and the process I equipped it

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
6 min readFeb 2, 2021

--

I’ll review the FANATEC Podium Advanced Paddle Module. The reason why I chose the bundle of FANATEC Podium DD1, Formula V2 steering, and Advanced Paddle module, here (Link to the article) was that I wanted more buttons on the wheel instead of switch box because I use VR (Oculus Quest 2) and it’s hard to manipulate the buttons on the wheel with VR goggles. Especially, I’m interested in the paddle clutch start for the Formula categories. The analog paddle can be assigned as a clutch and I thought it would make the start faster.

So the bundle including the paddles was the best choice for me.

Unboxing

Paddle plates for Formula and GT car.

Please watch the upper 4 paddles(2 are for GT, 2 are for Formula). The paddle includes golden lines along with carbon patterns.

The paddles are covered with papers.

The accessories. two L shaped wrenches, bolt screws, nuts, and spacers.

How to attach the paddles

I attached the paddle to FANATEC Clubsport Formula V2 steering.

Open the cover after untighten the 2 screws from the front.

Eject the 2 plugs. The plugs were tough to pull by fingers. But I managed to do that.

loosen the 2 screws for the paddle. At this step, you have to prepare the other wrench (2.5mm).

And tilt the paddle in order to avoid scratches when using the wrench in the picture.

Prepare the advanced paddle.

One Strange thing

All attached screw bolts are about 14mm, this is not aligned with the manual. Anyway, I tried with these and that was no problem to fix it.

Insert the wires in the hole and attach the paddle with the 14mm bolts.

Connect the wires.

Attach the cover and done!
I heard using the clutch is quicker than just doing the shift up when starting from the grid. So I’m training to use the clutch paddle to start during playing iRacing.

Anyway, It looks like a crab. That’s all.

The conclusions

Before I’ll show you the process of unboxing and attaching to the Formula V2 wheel, I’ll show you the conclusions.

  • The advanced paddle module can increase the number of buttons. They have 6 paddles and 2 of them have an analog function, which will be suitable for the clutch and side brake.
  • The solid click feeling due to the magnets is so good. It will make the driving fun.
  • Gold paddles and magnets seem very luxurious. The 2 carbon puddles include golden color, which are also beautiful.
  • As I attached to the Formula V2 steering, I have a lot of buttons on the wheel, I couldn’t remember what’s the functions are designated to each button. I have to consider what function I should designate.
  • This Podium Advance Paddle module has limited compatibility. Please check the latest compatibility information by yourself.
  • It took about 1 hour for me to attach it to my Formula V2 steering. Because I was watching youtube and checking SNS during attaching the paddle, you may complete it within 30 minutes if you are very familiar with such work.

Anyway, owning this FANATEC Advance Paddle Module makes my driving very fun. I’ll assign the communication function (text chat) and black box manipulation function. And I start to use the clutch start for F3 at iRacing, which is faster than other methods.

Compatibility

Please check the latest information on the compatibility by yourself (Link)

Among currently on sale wheels, only 3 wheels are compatible with the Podium Advanced Paddle Module.
(Podium Hub, Formula V2, Universal Hub for Xbox One)

Compatible with (2021/02)

  • ​Podium Hub
  • ClubSport Steering Wheel F1® 2018
  • ClubSport Steering Wheel F1® 2019
  • ClubSport Steering Wheel Formula V2
  • ClubSport Steering Wheel Universal Hub for Xbox One — (some units may exhibit a deadzone on the analogue paddle axes, main magnetic shifters and secondary paddles unaffected)

Not compatible with (2021/02)

  • ClubSport Steering Wheel Formula Black / Carbon
  • ClubSport Steering Wheel F1® Esports
  • ​ClubSport Steering Wheel BMW M3 GT2
  • ​ClubSport Steering Wheel Universal Hub (discontinued version)
  • ​ClubSport Steering Wheel Porsche 918 RSR
  • CSL Steering Wheel P1 for Xbox One
  • CSL Elite Steering Wheel P1 for Xbox One
  • CSL Elite Steering Wheel P1 for PS4™ (from CSL Elite Racing Wheel)
  • CSL Elite Steering Wheel McLaren GT3

<My Articles>

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2