Adjusting Driving Position for the Cockpit with FANATEC Podium DD1

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
4 min readFeb 20, 2021

The Motivation for the adjustment

Nowadays, I changed from FANATEC CSW V2.5 to FANATEC Podium DD1 and I felt pain in my wrist due to the strong FFB.

After considering and investigating the reason, I found that my body and the steering wheel were too near. When I turn the corner and I tilt the steering by over 90 degrees, I found the bottom wrist got pain. For example, I feel pain in my right wrist.

Though the DD1’s shaft is longer than the CSW V2.5, I just settle the DD1 by using the same holes on the cockpit. This makes the distance between the body and steering closer. Due to the high-torque motor which emits a max 20Nm torque, it’s bad for our body to continuously drive with an undesirable driving position.
Proper torque for a bolt of the real vehicle tire is about 100Nm. This DD1 can provide 1/5 of the torque.

By the way, when I stepped on the break, the front of the seat floated because the connection between the seat and frame is not appropriate. That had annoyed me.

The reason is the way of the usage of the L angle bracket. The below picture is from the back of the seat. The 4040 frame and the 4080 frame were connected with this one bracket. Though this bracket has the projection to fix the position of the bracket, it has a play. This caused the seat to float when I stepped on the brake. I had left this issue but I solved it together with the driving position issue. Please see the below sentences.

Before

These are the “before” pictures.

My Work for Proper Driving Position

I removed the seat one time.

I use this bracket like this.

I use 4040 frame like this as a bridge.

Nowadays, when I use VR with formula car, I felt the uncomfortable difference between my leg and the virtual driver’s leg position. So I made the height lower. As a result, the seat position went down by 4 cm.

I got two 4080 frames that had been used as the base of the seat.

Complete!

I feel comfortable with this driving position and the squeakiness vanished.

I use these gadgets in the picture.

The original design is here:

My Related Articles

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2