Finally, I bought FANATEC BMW GT2 V2!

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
8 min readAug 25, 2022

Though I had worried for a long time before getting round shape steering, I got FANATEC BMW GT2 V2.

I noticed that I need a circular steering wheel and I bought FANATEC CSL Steering Wheel P1 V2 on FANATEC black Friday in November 2021. At that time, the price of the wheel is so good. It was only 99.95 dollars. This is my review.

However, I soon sold this P1 V2 Steering because compared to the quality of the Formula V2 steering (in 2022, it was updated and changed to V2.5) that I had owned. The FFB is restricted because of the P1’s quick-release system. The paddle shifts are not magnetic paddles and are non-changeable.

Because of this experience, I deeply considered my next round shape steering wheel.
In fact, as for the formula rim, I bought F1 Esports and then changed to Formula V2. I’ve always reached high-end models.

This time, I judged this BMW V2 as almost high-end of the FANATEC circular steering wheel and then, I bought this.

The formal product name is Clubsport Lenkrad BMW GT2 V2. Lenkrad is sterring wheel in German.

By the way, I compared a universal hub, which can attach a real steering wheel. And I couldn’t determine which to buy. So, I relied on the voting system on Twitter. First one below is BMW GT2 V2 Steering, 2nd one is Universal hub with Clubsports 320, and 3rd one is “wait before FANATEC releases QR2.”

I followed the result of the vote, and I bought BMW GT2 V2. Though, there’re a number of opinions that wait before the QR2. But I wanted the circular rim soon and I can’t know when the QR2 will be released and if it will be released, I don’t know if we can buy it soon. So I bought the steering wheel soon after the result was fixed.

In Japan, FANATEC owns the warehouse, so I got the rim 2 days after I ordered it.

Mount Quick Rease to the FANATEC BMW GT2 V2

The quick release system, which is included in the wheel set, is delivered with a different box. When I bought steerings before, the quick release is packed in the same box. I think this is due to the preparation of the new type of quick release.

I assume users can select quick release (QR1 or QR2) when the new quick release will be on sale.
For your reference, if you need to buy the current quick release, it cost $99.95.

When I unboxed, there were a quick release, bolts, nuts, and hex wrenches. The blue paints on the bolts are anti-loosening.

Following the instruction on the box, attach the quick release on the steering, put the 4 bolts, and tighten the wrench.

I learned mechanical engineering. The screw need not so high torque to attach. So please don’t tighten fully. Please use the power of your wrist instead of your arm. It is enough if you think it’s hard when tighten by your wrist.

After I connect to my FANATEC DD1, an update of the firmware will automatically appear. Please follow the instruction of the window.

Then, all of the FANATEC products became “up to date” states.

The thickness of the FANATEC BMW GT2 V2

I’ll compare the Formula V2 rim. You can find they are almost the same.
I remember, the P1 steering was a little bit thick than theirs.

The size of FANATEC BMW GT2 V2

The diameter of BMW GT2 V2 is 320㎜. Formula V2 is 270mm. As for BMW GT2 V2, if the same FFB is input, the FFB felt by the arm will be smaller due to the larger diameter compared to Formula V2. In that case, I will just increase the FFB a little because I owned FANATEC Podium DD1. Currently, I am using FANATEC’s Podium DD1 (maximum 20Nm) with the FFB size set to 35% on the main unit.

The qualit of FANATEC BMW GT2 V2

I’ve owned 3 FANATEC steering wheels so far, so even if I see the 4th BMW GT2 V2, I’m not very impressed. haha. Alcantara is tightly wrapped around the grip, and metal is used to give it a sense of rigidity.

In July 2021, it was upgraded to V2, and the steering paddle became a magnetic paddle, so the paddle has a crisp operation feeling.

The feelings of each button switch are the same as other Fanatec products.

Extensibility of FANATEC BMW GT2 V2

This BMW GT2 V2 originally comes with a magnetic paddle, but you can remove it and add the Advanced Paddle Module.

Since I bought a bundle, Formula V2 comes with Advanced Paddle Module. If you want to use this BMW GT2 V2 steering wheel as the main steering wheel, I would like to replace the advanced paddle from Formula V2. By the way, the early BMW GT2 rim that does not have "V2" cannot be equipped with the Advance Paddle Module, so please be careful when buying second-hand products.

My Advanced Paddle Module↓

Compatible with future new quick releases

This new BMW GT2 V2 steering can also be retrofitted with a new quick-release system that is likely to be released soon. Current quick releases could make a knocking noise when playing with Podium DD1/DD2 with fairly high torque.

It may be fixed with grease up, but if you are interested, please try to introduce the new quick-release system that can be fixed more firmly. The rim I purchased this time is compatible, but at this stage, there is no information on whether the old product (BMW GT2 steering) without “V2” is compatible with the new quick-release system. (Personally, I feel like it will be compatible ), so when purchasing a used product, I think it’s important to check whether it’s a V2 or the old steering wheel before purchasing.

Which to buy? FANATEC BMW GT2 V2? Formula V2?

I can’t say for sure which one to buy because the purpose is different, but they both have their merits. Formula V2/V2.5 has a lot of switches and dials, so various functions can be assigned to the steering, so it is suitable for changing car settings while running like an endurance race. In addition, since the diameter of the steering is small, FFB is easily transmitted directly. Even with a wheelbase like the GT DD PRO or CSL DD, where the torque is modest (but still strong enough compared to the belt drive), I think you can feel the FFB as powerful with the formula rim. Another advantage is that the LCD screen is easier to see because there is no upper part of the steering wheel.

On the other hand, the BMW GT2 V2 has a large diameter and grips on the top and bottom, so it is suitable for car types and competitions such as drifting and rallies that require changing gripping positions and large movements. Versatility is the BMW GT2 V2. There are many advantages of Formula steering, and I think that many people will probably think about buying only one at first, so at that time they may be quite worried. Those who want to drive a formula car or a GT car and are interesting in Formula steering should start with Formula. If you don’t know what to buy if you don’t know what kind of car you want to race, or if you want to start drifting, rallying, or driving a commercial car, why not choose a BMW steering wheel?

Which to take BMW GT2 V2 or Formula V2?

Take BMW GT2 V2 when…

  1. Using Shifter

Formula V2 with the Advanced Paddle Module is so nice. But Formula steering is a little inconvenient to drive while casually using a manual transmission.

2. During rally and drive a winding road

A large-diameter round shape wheel is easier to turn in a sharp curve.

3. When drifting

It’s impossible to drift with Formula steering.

Except for the above 3 situations, I think Formula rim will be better.

I’m posting information on Twitter, Reddit…etc. Please follow me. I manage to inform useful and interesting information.

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2