FANATEC Formula V2 Clicking noise from Quick Release Vanished

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
4 min readMar 28, 2021

--

The conclusion is, the clicking noise below was disappeared without RMA (sending sims to the FANATEC).

I just pasted the grease on the balls of the quick release system.

Due to the clicking noise from the quick release system from Formula V2 Steering Wheel, I contacted the FANATEC below.

They requested me to use the grease to the balls of the Quick release system.

Firstly I hadn’t believed that only the grease would solve the problem

But I tried because my Twitter follower also try it and the noise vanished.

I chose the 80g of Moribuden in Lithium grease, which is around $2.

Why this Moribuden grease?

I think the Lithium grease or, Chassis grease will be enough for the Quick Release system because the connection point for two metals will normally never move and it has enough viscosity.

But I chose Lithium with Molibuden grease as the cost difference was very small, though the Moribuden grease is the most expensive of the 3 greases.

Where to paste the grease?

I pasted the grease on the 5 balls of the Quick Release System.

Firstly, I dipped the grease very little on the stick and paste the grease on each ball.

After that, I wear the disposal grove and spread the whole ball surface by rotating the ball. Maybe most of the people are wise enough not to paste the pins located in the center.

To roll the ball, please pull down the red ring and use the stopper below. After that, balls can easily roll.

Anyway, if we send the product to the FANATEC, we need to detach the wheelbase and steering wheel and pack them, and we have to wait till they fix it.
So I think trying grease up will one a better choice before sending them.

By the way, Lithium is bad for rubber. So please don’t paste it on the rubber of the Podium DD. Please paste the grease only on the balls.

If you want to lubricate the rubber of the DD, please chose the silicone grease. And, for the ball, I think silicone grease is not appropriate, maybe.

I found some posting the similar noise and I want FANATEC to control the quality of the product well.

This picture is the product package. Maybe, it won’t be your help because it’s in Japanese :)

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2