Handbrake arrived from MOZA Racing! ! | MASK | blog

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
7 min readDec 24, 2022

--

A MOZA handbrake has been added to my racing simulator cockpit.

My cockpit feels more rugged, thanks to this handbrake!

This handbrake was provided from MOZA, for some reason, they allow me to review it.

The price is $99. I think this price is susper cheap considering the quality.

As for the handbrake, I didn’t feel the need for it as long as I was driving on roads and ovals with iRacing. However, when it comes to running on dirt in iRacing or running on rough roads in rally games, it becomes an item that I want immediately. When I ran the dirt for a while, I tried using the 4th gear shifter as a handbrake lol (If you use the shifter as a handbrake, you can only input ON and OFF, so it’s not fun. I do not recommend it lol)

I’m very happy when new functions are added to my cockpit like this. Thank you, MOZA, for providing the item. But I would like to put the readers first in my review so as not to give too much praise.

MOZA’s handbrake package is compact

The handbrake is nicely packed in this compact 22x27x10cm box.

A lot of accessories!
I put them all in the below picture. Anyway, there are many accessories.
For now, I’m curious about the blue spring and the black resin.

The handbrake is made of two pieces, and the total weight of the sensor part at the base of the image and one arm extending from it is 536g. I don’t think the weight matters much, but I weighed it anyway.

As for the screws, there are two long bolts that connect the grip part of the handbrake and the parts in the photo below. There are two nuts with rounded ends that hold it in place.
Two short M5 bolts. 2 nuts 6 washers for M5 and 2 spring washers are included.

Below is the part you hold in your hand at the tip of the handbrake. It’s all made out of machined aluminum and is sturdy. 296g.

MOZA’s handbrake has a lot of holes

The handbrake arm has many holes, so you can adjust it to various angles and adjust the length of the handle.

Pattern ①

Pattern 2 (extending pattern 1)

Pattern 3 (Used linearly compared to Patterns 1 and 2)

Pattern ④ (Short version of Pattern ③)

Pattern ⑤ (steep version)

Pattern ⑥ (Short handle version of pattern ⑤)

The degree of freedom in installation is high, but check the drawings carefully!

I asked MOZA to provide the drawing of the mounting holes. They kindly sent this. This is a view from the bottom side.

If you have an aluminum frame, I think you can use two sets of M5 nuts and bolts to fasten it firmly.
For the review, I was able to fasten the included M5 nuts, bolts and washers using the grooves in the aluminum frame. (As nuts for the groove will arrive at a later.)

For the time being, I mounted the hand brake at similar position of my lovely car.

I could have set the hand brake like a rally car by attaching it to the left front vertical aluminum frame with pattern ⑤, but in order to improve my driving skills and make it look like a Japanese commercial car, I chose pattern ⑥. I decided to keep it on the left side because I own Japanese car.

↑Maybe you feel difficult to find the hand brake, so here’s an enlarged view↓

Below is foreign car version. (For me) If you mount the hand brake at the right side, the “MOZA” logo will be easier to see.

You can connect directly to a PC with the included USB cable, connect to a MOZA wheelbase with a port, or use the included RJ cable to connect to a PC via the recently released Universal Hub.

MOZA handbrake calibration

This is the screen of MOZA’s Pit House, but when you connect the handbrake, a screen like this will appear.

It will be updated almost automatically, so you can use it by pressing “Finish” at the bottom right.

Let’s calibrate first.

When you press “Start Calibrate”, there is a 10 second countdown, so pull the handbrake to MAX once during that time and put it back. When finished, press the same button again to complete the calibration.

Fully customizable handbrake output curve

The hand brake uses 16-bit non-contact sensor.
So, it is a method that detects the angle of the handbrake and inputs it to the PC.

A yellow spring is built in when shipped from the factory.

The accessory included a blue spring and a black rubber. I think that we can adjust the brake feeling by these items, so please fine-tune it to your liking!

At the current review stage, I don’t have the instruction manual at hand, so I can’t confirm how to use the blue spring and black rubber, and how it differs from the yellow one. I will check and update later.

For now, let’s take a look at how flexible MOZA’s software is.
First, 100 on the lower axis will be the MAX of the point pulled by calibration.

You can also deviate this from 100.

The vertical axis is the strength of the brake input to the game.

You can freely adjust this top right value. More expensive handbrakes use a load cell sensor, but this MOZA handbrake uses an angle sensor. By adjusting the car, I feel that it is possible to create a brake feeling that suits the sensibilities of various users.

Example: A curve that softly inputs 100% even if you pull it to the 60th place ↓

By the way, if you pull the yellow spring to the MAX, it will be the angle of this side. Even if I pull it more than that, it hardly moves. While pulling, the feeling of weight is always uniform because it is not hard.
If you want a feeling of getting heavier as the angle increases like a load cell pedal, the included rubber may be the solution! (I will verify if it can really be solved and upload it at a later date)

I will upload the internal structure, the configuration of each accessory, and my impressions of using it at a later date!

All I can say right now is that it’s cool looks and has good rigidity in the pulling direction.

Anyway, thank you for reading!

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2