How to enjoy Gran Turismo 7 without pedals by using the FANATEC Steering Wheel Controller| MASK | Blog |

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
9 min readOct 13, 2023

Some of the links on this site include advertisements to maintain and facilitate my review activity.

Fanatec Advanced Paddle Module can be used as the gas pedal and brake pedal

A person using a wheelchair because of a leg problem and cannot use the pedals saw my article below and asked me a question.

FANATEC Formula V2 with APM and GT DD PRO

“Can I use the analog paddles of the Advanced Paddle Module for accelerator and brake? Can they be operated in the same way as R2L2, the original PlayStation gamepad?”

<This article will be automatically translated after you click.>

In this article, I proudly wrote

“With the addition of Fanatec’s Advanced Paddle Module(APM) to the steering wheel, you can operate the accelerator and brakes using the APM analog paddles without the pedals,’’

Also,

“The right analog paddle is originally assigned to the accelerator, and the left analog paddle is assigned to the brake. (The analog paddle is the golden paddle in the image below.) As expected, it is difficult to use compared to operating the pedals. However, I think this would also be fun for people with walking disabilities or those who don’t want to prepare pedals.’’

After receiving the question directly from the person having a leg problem, I felt I had to provide more information about this function. At least in Japan, there’s little information about how to enjoy SIM racing for people who can’t use pedals.

In this article, I did a time attack in manual gear mode, using the APM left analog paddle for the brake, the right analog paddle for the gas pedal, the right paddle for upshifting, and the left paddle for downshifting.

I also uploaded a video of how I used the paddles below. Please use the English caption if you are interested in the information.

What is the FANATEC Advanced Paddle Module?

This product is a paddle for FANATEC’s steering controller with 6 paddles. I like this because there are six paddles instead of the usual two or four, and the magnetic paddles have a good operation feel. The bottom two gold paddles are analog paddles, and the output signal to the PC becomes stronger depending on how we pull the paddle.

In Gran Turismo 7, these can be applied to the accelerator and brakes.

My paddle Review is below.

Conclusion on using FANATEC Advanced Paddle Module as a replacement for pedals

In Gran Turismo 7, when using Formula V2, V2.5(X) steering, we need to set the center dial to “C” and the left analog paddle will become the brake, and the right analog paddle will become the gas pedal.

The spring of the analog paddle is quite strong, so I recommend operating it with your ring finger rather than your little finger. (Please see the video below.) You can put your thumb on the steering wheel and press the steering wheel from behind with your index finger. Furthermore, support the steering wheel by holding the steering wheel between both palms.

Since my ring finger rests on the analog paddle, I can’t grip the steering wheel with much force. With the 8Nm model, I felt that FFB was sufficient at around 60% (= about 5Nm). When I applied 8Nm of the Maximum torque, it was difficult to control the violent steering, and I couldn’t control precisely in curves. So, please set the ideal torque for you to control well.

I joined a time trial using NSX in Sector 1 of Suzuka. I started using the paddles, which I was not used to, and halfway through I dropped the FFB to 60% (using GT DD PRO 8Nm). I changed the steering angle sensitivity (SEN) from AUTO to 540 and adjusted it so that it would turn at a slight angle, and I was able to achieve the gold medal time (That means fast) in about 30 minutes, including those minor adjustments.

Since the stroke of the paddle is quite large, I wanted to know if it was possible to shorten the stroke. However, in Gran Turismo, there is no option to control the amount of paddle stroke. I also tried to see if I could move the paddle closer to me, but there was no way to adjust it. If I could find a lighter spring for the paddle, it might be more comfortable.

If you have a PC Racing SIM, you can adjust the amount of paddle operation, so you might be able to offset the initial position of the paddle to bring it closer to you and make it easier to operate.

How to use FANATEC Advanced Paddle Module as brake/accelerator in Gran Turismo 7

After connecting GT DD PRO to PlayStation 5, turn GT DD PRO’s power to PC mode. Then press the PS button (the round button just below the red square in the photo below) and set the center dial to “C” (Red square). If you set it to anything else, the button layout will be different.

As explained below, even in models where there are no dials other than this Formula V2 (V2.5X) steering wheel, you should be able to control the analog paddle mode from the steering wheel. I will verify it later.

Also, CSL Elite Steering Wheel Macleren GT3 V2 also has analog paddles and my follower says he can use the paddles as the brake and gas pedal. This is more reasonable than the Formula V2.5X.

The analog paddle spring of the FANATEC Advanced Paddle Module is strong.

The spring of the analog paddle is not squishy. The spring is strong. Please see the video to guess.

Therefore, it is recommended that you use your ring finger instead of your little finger. You can put your thumb on the steering wheel and hold it down with your index finger. Support the steering wheel by holding it with both palms.

With that kind of feeling, I could not grip the steering wheel with a strong force, so I felt that FFB was sufficient at about 60% (= about 5Nm). When I applied 8Nm of the Maximum torque, it was difficult to control the violent steering, and I couldn’t control precisely in curves.

It is possible to achieve a golden class time in Gran Turismo 7’s time trial without pedals.

Got gold-class-time without pedals

Compatible with analog paddle operations, the gas pedal and brake pedal indicators on the game screen move finely and linearly, allowing for delicate operations.

I tried a time trial using NSX at Sector 1 in Suzuka.

Along the way, I lowered the FFB to 60% (using GT DD PRO 8Nm), changed the steering angle (SEN) from AUTO to 540, and made adjustments to make the turn at a slight angle, etc., and it took about 30 minutes while making such minor adjustments. I was able to achieve a golden-medal-class time.

It has some quirks, but I think you can use it once you get used to it. I thought that an endurance race that lasted several hours would be really hard on my ring finger. However, I was able to play for 30 minutes straight during the time trial with trial and error.

Regarding the compatibility of the FANATEC steering controller with PlayStation and Xbox

To make it compatible with PlayStation, you must purchase GT DD PRO. After that, if you only use it on PlayStation or PC, please use the steering page on the official website. Please select the model that has “PC” and “PS Ready” displayed in the upper right corner of each product.

If you want it to be compatible with XBOX, you need to select the steering wheel with the “XBOX” notation on the upper right. If you don’t need PlayStation compatibility, you can use CSL DD instead of GT DD PRO, and DD1/DD2, CSW, and CSL will also work.

Examples of steering wheels that can be equipped with the Advanced Paddle Module if there is a possibility of using it on XBOX in the future are as follows. (For Universal Hub V2, it is necessary to select the appropriate diameter steering wheel)

Note: Based on the Advanced Paddle Module instruction manual, models with a display on the steering wheel should be able to change the mode of the analog paddles on the steering wheel. (I will try it with a BMW steering wheel soon, so please comment if you are interested.)

To switch between Podium Advanced Paddle Module modes, you must start the Tuning Menu. This menu can be accessed from the FanaLab software or from the button/display module. Use center multi-position switch A, B, C, or D if available on your steering wheel. (Example: ClubSport Formula V2)

Podium Advanced Paddle Module Manual — US (PDF)

By the way, the above will also support quick-release QR2 except for the McLaren GT3 V2. (MacLaren can be applied to QR2 Lite)

About adjusting the paddle position and changing settings

It doesn’t seem like the position of the paddle can be physically changed easily. Since the stroke amount is large, the distance between the ring finger and the grip is far apart for me, making it difficult to grip. However, in Gran Turismo, there is no option to control the amount of paddle stroke.

If it’s a PC race SIM (Not Grand Turismo), I think you can set the proper stroke position. First, you put physically something to the analog paddle to fix the initial position. Second, assign and calibrate the paddle as a gas pedal and brake with the Racing Simulator software. (I’ll try near future)

Can it be used in Gran Turismo even without pedals?

I think you can use it once you get used to it. In fact, I was able to set a golden-medal-level time. The FANATEC steering wheel and advanced paddle module are not cheap, so if you’re really considering it, I’ve made a video of the process, I hope it’s helpful.

During the time attack, I supported the steering wheel with both hands, operated the accelerator and brake with my ring finger, and operated the gear paddles with my middle finger. The springs of the analog paddles are a little stiff, but since you support the steering wheel with both hands, you can drive relatively stably.

I don’t know, but there might be other products that are more suitable, and this method might not be the best because it is not specifically designed for people with leg problems. I’m not going to fully rave about it, but I was able to use it enough to enjoy it. I would like to record the fact that there is an option that can be used as a commercially available product without any modification.

If anyone found it helpful, I would be very happy.
Also, if you have any products or combinations that are more suitable when operating only with your hands, please leave a comment and I think it will be helpful for everyone.

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2