I tried using MOZA’s FSR steering with FANATEC Podium DD1 | MASK | Blog |

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
9 min readJan 2, 2023

--

This is a record of making the MOZA FSR steering compatible with FANATEC’s Podium DD1.

FSR steering wheel, hub, attachment that connects Podium DD1 and FSR steering wheel. MOZA FSR was provided by MOZA Racing.
I think it’s really tricky to use, so I don’t know how many people will seriously consider it, but I hope you will enjoy reading it.

Podium Hub from FANATEC has arrived.

As MOZA provided me with the Universal hub and FSR Steering Wheel, I decided to test the combination of FSR and Podium DD1. So I ordered FANATEC Podium Hub to connect them.

A quick release (hereafter QR1) will be delivered together in a separate box.

If you buy this QR1 separately, it costs about yen, so if you are purchasing a second-hand item, please check carefully whether or not this item is enclosed.

FANATEC Podium Hub Unboxing Review

Here’s what’s in the Podium Hub box. In addition to this, there is also an instruction manual.

Briefly, the screw holes have the following dimensions, and you can use the commercially available steering wheel with FANATEC wheel bases by using the screw holes.

A view from the back side. The pin is protected by a plastic collar and tape, so please remove before connect with QR1.

This is the QR1 that arrived in a separate box.

Fasten with the enclosed bolt and enclosed wrench.

This is what it looks like when connected. If you attach a steering wheel to this state, you can use it with FANATEC.

I tried connecting directly to the FSR steering, but I couldn’t do it.

Can MOZA Racing’s FSR steering be used with FANATEC? I checked whether if we can do it or not, before MOZA announced they sells the convenient Third-Party Wheel Base Mount Adopter (For FSR).

A rectangular plate (rounded in the middle) is used behind the FSR steering wheel. This is the plate that connects the steering and quick release.

This is fixed to the steering wheel at the four corners of the rectangle.

If you look closely, there are
3 holes in the middle in addition to the 6 holes for quick release. The two types of holes have different distances from the center (PCD).

Here we call them d1 and d2.

If this hole matches an existing conversion adapter or Podium Hub, it can be mechanically connected to FANATEC.

However, although I try to measure it, I can’t measure it properly. I asked the person in charge about these two diameters. Then she kindly sent me the drawing.

I asked her if I upload this picture, she said, “MOZA wants people to know about MOZA, so you can publish it.” So I’m openly publishing it.

According to the drawing, it seems that d1=55mm and d2=50mm.

Looking at the drawing, the three inner holes are Φ50mm and have holes for M5.

So, I tried halfway through. So far, I’ve been able to install it in 3 holes.

Here’s the problem! My wrench is not accessible! The gap is about 1cm.
If I have a certain special wrench with a shorter length of about 8 mm, assuming that I can tighten it with my fingers halfway, I should be able to access it. . . I don’t have the wrench now.

So I decided to use the provided adapter. :Third-Party Wheel Base Mount Adapter(For FSR)

In the end it looks like this. It’s long.

MOZA’s quick release connected to this adapter.

Then I connect to Podium DD1!

Cool. And you can use it normally as a drive controller. However, there are quite a few sacrifices:

What you have to endure in combination with FANATEC Podium Hub & MOZA FSR steering

1. RJ cable must be connected to steering

In this combination, the attached cable (in Universal Hub package) is used to receive steering information from the PC and display it on the LCD. In addition, the output of the steering switch is also input to the PC.
Therefore, since cables are absolutely necessary, many people may find them in the way.
As with any combination, in order to use a third-party steering wheel with functions such as buttons, it is necessary to enter steering information into the PC. As a result, you basically need a cable, and even if you have Bluetooth functionality, you need a battery.

2. Podium DD1 FFB adjustment not possible on FSR steering

With FANATEC wheel, you can use the small liquid crystal display on the steering wheel to fine-tune various FFB menus (steering angle, FFB strength, damper, etc.) to your liking.
Personally, I think this is a great strength of FANATEC.
If you don’t use FANATEC steering, you can’t use that function.

3. The quick release is a FANATEC quick release.

Currently, QR made by MOZA has a newer design and seems to be more rigid than FANATEC.
However, in this combination, the MOZA quick release will inevitably be removed and the FANATEC quick release will be used for connection. The distance between the shaft and the steering wheel becomes longer, and when force is applied to the upper and lower sides of the steering wheel, a large force is likely to be applied to the shaft. Due to the characteristics of FANATEC’s quick release, it will move slightly. I don’t mind at all if I use FANATEC’s genuine steering wheel without extending it, though.

4. The combination of FANATEC Podium Hub and MOZA FSR steering and adapter is heavy

2237g. With the Podium DD1, you probably don’t have to worry about it too much, but with the CSL DD or GT DD PRO, the FFB may feel a little too heavy and weak.

By the way, FANATEC Formula V2 was 1405g.

5. The combination of FANATEC Podium Hub and MOZA FSR steering wheel and adapter is long!

The distance from the back of the grip to the tip of the quick release is 19 cm for the MOZA FSR steering and FANATEC Podium Hub combination. (If the method of directly connecting the Podium Hub that I tried above is successful, it will be about 13 cm.)
By the way, FANATEC’s Formula V2 steering wheel is 9 cm. I didn’t take a picture, but ↓ BMW V2 steering wheel was 12 cm.

Note: For now, in MOZA’s line up, only FSR steering is available for aftermarket wheelbases

Originally equipped with a socket to which the FSR steering near cable can be connected. On the other hand, even high-end steering wheels like the MOZA RS V2 steering wheel are NOT equipped with that socket. This means that even if you can connect the RS V2 steering wheel to the FANATEC wheelbase, nothing can be input by pressing the steering wheel switch.

I tried using FSR steering for the first time in a while. The pros and cons of the FSR steering are the same as the impressions in this review article.

Functions I want listed in the ↑ review article:
・Will it be possible to freely customize the arrangement of parameters in the LCD?
When I confirmed with the person in charge, plans to allow users to customize are also underway. A new design will be added at a later date. (unknown when)

Summary

The FSR steering wheel is very cool, but for not it is not convenient to connect it to the FANATEC wheelbase, so I actually continue to use the Formula V2…

Because the length of the axis is too different, it is necessary to readjust the cockpit, and after using the FSR, if you replace it with a round BMW V2 steering, you will need to adjust the cockpit again. Also, I prefer the Advanced Paddle Module for the click feeling of the paddle, which is the button I touch the most, so I continue to use the Formula V2. I might be tempted to find a wrench that fits and has a good direct connection between the FSR and the Podium Hub.

If this was helpful for you! I would be happy if you could give me a like (* ^ _ ^ *)

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2