Modification of FANATEC CSL Elite Pedals to Control Brake Precisely

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
4 min readDec 31, 2020
Modification of CSL Elite Pedals (brake)

I rewrote this based on my Japanese article.

<My Homepage>

When I posted this modification on Twitter, though my Japanese followers provide various opinions, I think this modification improved my driving more than the previous normal one.

My concern for the Fanatec CSL Elite Pedals

I bought below FANATEC 2 pedals. It doesn’t include a load cell pedal.

What I concerned:
・There’s the brake lag before touching to the attached resin
・The attached resin is soft and it’s easy for tires to be locked

I bought rubber plates

To overcome the problem, I went to a DIY store and I found these 2 materials to alternate the resin.

After worrying about 15 minutes at the DIY store, I bought a 2cm thick rubber plate (about 2 dollars) and a 1cm thick plate (about 2 dollars). The 2cm thick rubber plate (Left side) doesn’t dent when pushed by hand. It was very hard and I thought it wouldn’t be deformed by stepping on it, so I bought both of them as a trial. At that time, I thought a 1cm plate with a slit will work well because it deforms when pressed by hand (right side).

First, I modified a 2 cm thick plate as shown in the upper photo. I processed it into a simple rectangular parallelepiped and I tried to push it into the space where the original resin was fitted. However, the rubber is so hard that it was interfered with the pedal and cannot be inserted into the space. Therefore, I cut slightly diagonally as shown in the upper left of the figure to make it easier to set. It was easy to process, and I cut it with a knife. Also, the resin originally attached to the pedal is a little thinner than the thickness of the rubber plate I purchased, which is 2cm.

Below my article may be a help if you consider doing this.

The rubber somehow suited to the CSL Elite Pedals. I also added a thin plate because there was space before the arm touches the large rubber.

Then, personally, I feel well due to this modification. This twitter shows how the pedal moves with my full power.

My Impression for this Modification

・ I felt the weight of the brake pedal when I step on it.
・ When you step on it, it gets heavier as you go deeper.

At the MX-5 race, even if the brakes are used roughly, the car can run without disturbing the vehicle posture (← I think that there are various opinions), but as for other racing cars, it sometimes requires a fairly delicate operation. So I finally bought a load cell kit (one pedal with a load cell).

I strongly recommend buying the pedals including loadcell. But I think you can also enjoy using two pedals without a load cell. If you can buy a load cell, I recommend you to buy it without detours. The load cell will contribute to stabilizing your driving.

I adjusted how deep to step on the pedal at the iRacing.
1. Select “OPTIONS”

2. Select “Pedals”
3. After adjusting the acceleration, please adjust as the instruction write.

That’s all from me.

I benchmarked this pedal with a modified rubber. I’ll post later.

<Reference for FANATEC Pedals>

+

Equal

Vibration function included

<My Hompeage>

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2