MOZA Racing’s FSR Formula Wheel Review | MASK | Blog

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
13 min readOct 21, 2022
  • MOZA Racing kindly provided me with FSR Formula wheel. I plan to add more content in the future!

When we want a steering wheel with an LCD

During sim racing, if you use a car with an LCD on the steering wheel, don’t you think it’s unnatural to change your FOV (field of view) or height to see the LCD in a game such as F3 or GT3? like below.

So, someday, I had made up my mind if I win the lottery, I would like to get a steering wheel with an LCD. Just then, MOZA Racing contacted me and gave me the opportunity to review the FSR Formula steering. (At that time, since there was no wheelbase, the following R5 was also provided)

The FSR steering wheel is about 650 dollars, and for me, it’s a super high-end steering wheel (Thank you, MOZA Racing), so I’ll do my best to be a reference for those who are seriously thinking of buying it. If you don’t think of buying this, I would be happy if you could enjoy reading it.

Unboxing the MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel

The box is compact compared to my FANATEC wheels but the wheel seemed very classy. Included are stickers and instructions etc. It’s cool and I’m really excited to see it!

The steering wheel feels heavy and solid. It feels slightly heavier than FANATEC’s Formula V2 steering + optional paddle module below.

I guess this is due to the high usage rate of aluminum, and the LCD.

MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel quick-release system

It seems a fairly solid quick-release system that can withstand high torque, I think. MOZA receives force with 10 balls, therefore the force applied to each ball becomes small. *I don’t have a MOZA’s high-torque wheelbase because I only have R5, the entry model of MOZA direct drive.

MOZA racing’s Software: Pit House

When I started Pit House, MOZA Racing’s software, such a screen appeared, so I clicked the blue “Activation in one click” to recognize the steering.

Then go to the upgrade page and click “Upgrade all” in one click. Then the software updates all drivers such as wheelbase, steering, and pedals at once. FSR steering took about 5 minutes this time.

You can change the maximum steering angle, the LCD screen, etc. while driving, but it might be hard to remember lol.
(One tip: the lower right analog paddle & right rocker can change UI of the dash panel)

MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel genuine leather grips

Compared to materials like Alcantara, it is easy to grip and hold even without gloves. In Japan, someone uses tape for a tennis racket grip to protect the grip and increase friction. I don’t think we need the tape due to enough friction.

MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel TORAY carbon panels and paddles

It’s a beautiful carbon pattern. The surface is similar to FANATEC’s Formula V2 steering. The front is 5mm thick and the carbon used for the paddle is 3mm thick.

MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel Magnetic Paddles & Clutch

Although it is a magnetic paddle, it is a non-contact type; not a button-pressing method for input. It seems that there is less concern about the malfunction.

It seems that this steering’s negative point is the noisy sound from the magnetic paddle. The MOZA includes silencer tape to reduce the noise. The video below was before I applied it. If we need to reduce the noise, MOZA requires us to DIY to apply it.

When the paddle is pushed in and the paddle touches the bottom, you will hear a loud clicking sound. For comparison, FANATEC’s Formula V2 (V2.5), which does not have an LCD, has been originally covered with sound-deadening material.
The FSR steering package also contains sound-deadening material we have to put on ourselves. The one labeled 3M is a sound-deadening material below.

There is a description in the instruction manual that people who are concerned about the sound should put it on themselves. We have to disassemble the paddle a little, so it might be a pain for those who are mechanically illiterate.

DIY to attach the sound-deadening sheet to the paddle of the MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel

As you can see in the left figure above, it says to loosen the two screws with the included hex wrench and pull out the stick, but the stick did not move even when I pushed it with the included hex wrench. The hexagon wrench seemed to break, so I took a break.

After all, I got some tips from people who already had done it.
The trick is not to completely remove the top bolt, just loosen it a little and let the head push out. The bolt is easier to push than using a hex wrench, so when you push it in, the rod moves down. After that, remove the top bolt and push it in with a wrench and it will work. Then, put the sound-deadening material in 2 places on one side, 4 places in total, and it’s done. It seems to be a design common to MOZA steering.
After sticking the silencer tape, I measured the sound pressure with the sound pressure measurement function of my smartphone, but compared to FANATEC’s Magnetic paddle, the sound was slightly louder numerically. Regarding the sound quality of the paddle with silencer, I prefer FANATEC. (I’m sorry MOZA-san…)

MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel 4.3 inch LCD panel

The LCD panel is 4.3 inches. So far, MOZA Racing has prepared 15 dash panels. It’s cool, isn’t it! ! You can take cool videos like this! I think that is the biggest advantage of this FSR steering for me. By the way, I switched several panels in this video.

It’s cool, but… I’ll honestly write what I noticed and felt when I actually used it.

Only 15 preset designs prepared by MOZA Racing can be used.
15 sheets are well prepared. I think it will be sufficient for some users However, it seems that there is currently no function that allows you to design the inside of the dash panel using software such as Sim Hub. (I searched in both Japanese and English) I want to have the same arrangement as the dash panel of my dream racing car! I want to display the same in-game display on the FSR’s LCD.
If you think about it, you might be disappointed if you buy it without knowing it.
This depends on how MOZA will work on it in the future. If you want to faithfully reproduce the LCD screen of the actual car, not just Instagrammable and fashionable, you are seriously trying to incorporate the steering LCD as one of the tools to assist the race, I think you have to wait or please check if current dash panel display is suitable for you.

・Depending on the Sim software, some functions cannot be displayed.
Example → DRS of iRacing was not linked yet. I tried a test drive with W12 of Mercedes F1. The battery should be 100% or 95%, but the charging mark in the FSR dash panel (it is 100% in the image below, but there) is 0 all the time. When pressing the DRS button, it shows no change. Other companies have dash panels that catch changes in Battery, so I think MOZA hasn’t been able to respond yet. I think.

Is the LCD on the steering wheel useful for racing?

It’s cool to have the information at hand. With this, you don’t have to force the angle of view to be able to see the LCD in the game, so you can set a more natural view angle like below!
With this, if you attach a wide-angle action cam on your head and stream it, it may look quite realistic.

On the other hand, what I noticed after driving various car models (F3, F1, P2, Porsche GT3CUP) for about 2 hours is that it is difficult to shift the focus of the eyes when the screen and the steering wheel are far away. In order to run fast and run stably with endurance, the steering display is just a decoration. I thought.
*If you bring the LCD monitor closer to the steering wheel, the focus shift may decrease.

MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel glowing buttons and rev counter

Lighting up buttons and bars is basically unnecessary since we are just playing games in the room. The buttons are located in an easy-to-operate position, and you can understand them without looking.
However, if you shoot in dim light, it will look great on Instagram and Twitter. You excited. Will you pay $650 for that? If you ask me, I think some people will find it worth $650, and some people won’t, so I think it depends on the person.
The color scheme of each button can be changed by simultaneously pressing the rotation buttons near the left and right thumbs and pressing each button after the bar turns yellow. The video below shows the color changing.

The engine tachometer

The engine tachometers of the FANATEC Formula V2 steering wheel and V2.5 steering wheel that I own have separate LEDs, and I think it’s easy to see. I was not particularly dissatisfied with MOZA’s bar. Colors can also be changed with MOZA’s soft Pit House.
By the way, regarding the bar and LED buttons, the GS steering wheel, which has a slightly larger diameter than the FSR and does not have a liquid crystal display, has the same arrangement and shines in the same way.

The surface of the GS steering wheel is a bit plasticky compared to the FSR, so please check it yourself.

Operation feeling of each switch of MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel

Each push button switch is softer than FANATEC. The dial switch right next to the thumb is firmer than the FANATEC. It takes some force to operate, but I think it’s good because the numbers don’t change arbitrarily by touching.

There are two more dial switches in the center than the FANATEC Formula V2/2.5, and you can tell that MOZA Racing is conscious of FANATEC. In addition, this dial is made of metal and has a luxurious feel. (FANATEC is made of plastic) I think that this also makes it more durable.
As a Japanese person, I would say that my hands are neither too big nor too small, but the buttons are easy to press and I didn’t have any complaints. I don’t think it’s difficult to touch the buttons while driving, or that it’s difficult to move.

The seals are used here??

Let’s get closer. The base is made of carbon, giving it a luxurious feel. This rotating switch is made of metal and has a crisp feel, but the red, yellow, and green at its base are made of a sticker-like material. It seems that the color is also different. (But if it’s a sticker, you might be able to customize it by replacing it, etc.)
Personally, I think it’s a waste because the materials used around it are good.

For reference, the buttons on my Formula V2 steering wheel are made of plastic, but this rotary switch part is not a sticker, but orange and black plastic, and this is the only part that is more sturdy than the FSR.

MOZA Racing FSR steering can also be used with FANATEC hand control (should)

It is said that if you use this dedicated RJ connector → USB converter, which will be released in October, you can connect directly to a PC even if you do not have a MOZA Racing wheelbase. It seems that the RJ cable that can connect the FSR steering and this hub is also enclosed. The price is yet to be annunced.
If you purchase this cable and hub set and an external adapter for MOZA Racing steering wheel to FANATEC wheelbase, you should be able to use this steering wheel with FANATEC wheelbase. I hope to review this later in my FANATEC Podium DD1 as well.

MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel Summary

I would like to get a set of USB hubs and a conversion adapter for steering as soon as possible, use them with my FANATEC Podium DD1, and check the rigidity. Also, check it can be connected to a FANATEC wheelbase. I wish I could answer the maniac question.

The motor used in this review, the Moza Racing R5, has a wheelbase torque of 5.5Nm, which is the smallest class of direct drive torque. I have not confirmed the durability of the LCD panel, LED buttons, and bars when it is used. At least the quick release seems to be well-made.

MOZA Racing FSR Formula Wheel (taken by MASK)

Positive points

・Anyway, it’s cool! Reasonably priced. (As a steering wheel with LCD)
・Quick release, it seems to be solid
・It has a solid sense of rigidity as a formula steering
・It looks pretty good in the dark, so if you want to stream with an action camera, you can take a nice video!
・A large number of easy-to-use, high-class switches

Negatives

・Expensive as a hobby steering wheel (reasonable as a steering wheel with LCD)
・Noisy paddle. It is quite difficult to put the attached sound-deadening material. I feel that the sound quality after pasting is a little cheap.
・Since the focus of the eye moves, the liquid crystal panel on the steering wheel cannot be seen during the race. Some game has not been completely linked with the UI yet

So, in order to solve the paddle’s noise problem, it is necessary to apply the attached sound-deadening material, but I feel that it is well made, and for those who enjoy posting on SNS as I do, Isn’t it pretty good? I’m really excited.
However, for those who are purely interested in winning races, I feel that the addition of an LCD will not improve their fighting power. (Personal impression) Don’t worry if you don’t have a budget. If you buy like GS steering wheel and arrange the information on the main screen well, it will be easier to concentrate on the race because there is no change in the focus of the eyes between the main display and the steering display. I also think. So if you have a limited budget, I don’t think you need to force yourself to get the LCD.

Gaming steering is in a harsh situation where vibrations are added. I can’t imagine how many electronic parts such as LCD and LED buttons can be used in perfect condition without breaking. (If you buy a new steering wheel, there is a one-year warranty.)

Overall, it is a solid construction with a sense of luxury. “Should I buy this?” If you ask me…
If you have
a MOZA Racing wheelbase and can afford it, if you want to cherish the atmosphere of the SIM, put an action cam on your head, and want to stream with this angle of view, it will be a very attractive product.

On the other hand, if you have a limited budget, rather than purchasing this steering wheel, it may be better to focus on raising the grade of the wheelbase or raising the grade of the pedals, which may contribute to the results of the race. For those who want to use the steering LCD in the race, it is necessary to carefully determine whether the currently available 15-dash panels are suitable for your application!

※cool! Since everything is contained within 4.3 inches, each piece of information is small. It is extremely difficult to see while driving while maintaining time.

A cool screen that can display many parameters!!

I’ve written a lot of personal opinions, but in any case, it’s kind of fun to have a large LCD on the steering wheel!

Normally, I cannot buy $650 expensive steering wheel, so I’m really grateful to have the opportunity to review it.

At least my impression is, “It looks good, and $650 is reasonable compared to other products with LCD. On the other hand since the LCD can only display 15 presets, it would be better if we could customize it freely...

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2