Simple Noise Reduction System for Sim Racing Cockpit

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

--

My Sim Cockpit is becoming more and more maniac.

I newly introduced four balance disks under my Sim Cockpit to reduce the noise in March 2021.

I live in an apartment house. And I think the noise from FANATEC DD1 will be transmitted to the other floors. So I was thinking to reduce the noise from it.

FANATEC DD1 doesn’t make so much audible noise. But the clunks/bangs and vibrations get transmitted directly into the floor if your rig isn’t isolated from it. On a cement/foundation type floor, they’re really quiet and the concrete eats the vibes but on a wood floor, it amplifies it like the soundboard on a guitar. (I used this expression from the comment for this article)

Also, if you are considering applying SIM Vibe this system will work very well.

About $20/2piece. I ordered 2 sets of them.

It was more huge than I expected. The phone was iPhone8 for your reference.

The disks were already ballooned and the packages included an air pump.

If I settled the disk directly under the aluminum frame, a few ten kilos will be loaded and it will be easier to puncture. So I used the leaving wood and share the load.

As the disk has one air valve, I also consider the location of the disk to easily adjust the air.

I use VR (Oculus Quest2) and I don’t use displays in front of the SIM cockpit, it still simple???

But if I equipped 3 monitors, it will be more maniac.

Impression

・I can drive without concerning the noises for the other people though I’d already use the carpet.

・Shake from Podium DD1 transmit to the frame and cockpit also be shaken. As a result, the presence increased a little.

Examples of this Noise Reduction System

This method seems common for the Japanese Sim racers and musicians. You can find the result of google searching below.

We call this noise reduction system as “ふにゃふにゃシステム.”
This means “Limp and Limp System.”

That’s it!

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2