FANATEC CSL Steering Wheel P1 V2 Steering Review

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
6 min readJan 9, 2022

--

26th Nov. 2021, it was black Friday!

I struggled to decide to buy the steering. The name is CSL Steering Wheel P1 V2. We sometimes call it P1 steering.

Though it’s FANATEC product, it’s a reasonable price of 99.95 dollars!

I had worried about whether to buy or not at the last minute.

I had thought to buy the BMW GT2 V2 steering and Clubsport Steering Wheel RS. Because I owned an Advanced Paddle Module for the Formula V2. And these 2 wheel has a metallic quick release system. On the other hand, this P1 steering is equipped with a simplified quick release made of plastic.

My article about BMW GT2 V2 is here.

Only 20 P1 steerings were on sale in Japan

According to a friend, there are only 20 P1 steerings on sale at the time black Friday just started.

I worried after adding to the cart

I asked myself, “is it necessary?”

The number is decreasing and decreasing…

“Let’s buy it now! If I like it, I can use it, and if it doesn’t fit me, I’ll sell it a little cheaper than a new one and someone will buy it.
I purchased it 50 mins after black Friday started. As we can assume, this steering was sold for about 50 mins in Japan and I’m one of the 20 owners of the steering.

The products came soon

I ordered it on 26th Nov. Friday noon, I received it on 30th.

I thought the shipment will be late due to a lot of orders. But I got it soon.

Unbox the FANATEC P1!

Please play the video.

The size is completely the same as previous P1 steerings.

This model uses a rubber grip and the center surface panel seems carbon but it is maybe plastic considering the price.

Buttons are rigid.

I’m not sure this panel is made of carbon or not because the Web site for this P1 steering is deleted due to sold out.

Simplified quick release system made of high-strength plastic.

The paddle is enough But I prefer a magnetic paddle. (Advanced Paddle Module) If you experience the firm feeling of the magnetic paddle, you may not return to the normal paddle.

Comparison with FANATEC Formula V2.

The thickness of the grip is almost the same though you will feel the Formula V2 seems thicker than the P1. When I hold it, actually, I think P1 is a little bit thicker than V2 and it’s easier to hold it firmly.

How is the combination with FANATEC Podium DD1?

It’s completely no problem to install the wheel to the wheelbase of Podium DD1. However, please note, that if the P1 is used for the Podium DD1/DD2, “Low torque Mode” is automatically selected and the torque is squeezed. (There’s no information on how much torque will be squeezed)

During using the Formula V2 with DD1, I set the toque not so high in high torque mode. But I can clearly feel the drop of the torque due to the low torque mode due to P1.

This is because I’ve experienced the high torque mode of the FANATEC’s frag ship “ Podium wheelbase”. So, if the people haven’t experienced such kind of strong Direct Drive, they may feel the torque is enough strong.

Anyway, if the people experience the DD1 or DD2, everyone will notice the drop of the torque.

If you have Podium DD1 or DD2, you should utilize “high torque mode.” Then you need to buy the metal-made quick release system for about $100.
Totally, you will spend $250–300 including the P1 wheel itself.

With $300, you can buy Clubsport Steering Wheel BMW GT2 V2 and ClubSport Steering Wheel RS.

If I will be asked, I’ll answer “if you have DD1 or DD2, you should buy BMW or RS wheel with metal Quick Release.” But CSL DD or GT DD Pro, the P1will be a reasonable choice.”

Round-Shape Steering Wheel is easy to turn the steering

I’ve used the formula V2 Rim, which diameter is smaller than the P1. P1 is easier to turn the steering deeply than the formula V2. It’s maybe because of the diameter or torque due to the low torque mode. As a result, without strong power, I can curve the car, which reduces my stress during the race.

On the other hand, we have to think that high torque sometimes helps our driving to align the instability of the car with self-steering with quick feedback.

Anyway, I felt driveability is better than the Formula V2 for the ordinary car like MX-5, 911 GT3 CUP.

Unnecessary for the GT DD Pro

Maybe there will be no person who will buy P1 if he/she bought the DD Pro bundle model including the Granturismo Steering Wheel.

If you need an additional steering wheel, I recommend buying the wheel which bundled a metal quick release system because the models have certain quality and functions.

I examined

I wanted to try the P1 steering with a metal quick release. But I don’t own this QR1 itself.

But I own Formula V2 steering. So I tried to dismantle Formula V2.

However, only loosening the bolt, I couldn’t separate the QR1 from the Formula V2. Maybe I can loosen, but I avoided not to break the wheel.

Reference

Who is recommended to buy FANATEC P1?

The point we need to consider the most is, the simplified quick release system of the P1 will reduce the FFB due to low torque mode.

So, I think the person below will be suitable

  • Owner of the CSL DD (5Nm/8Nm) and satisfied with current torque
  • Owner of the CSL Elite / CSW wheel

According to the FANATEC community, with CSL DD and GT DD Pro(5/8Nm) the torque will not be reduced due to P1.

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2