Which FANATEC Podium DD is Better? DD1 vs DD2

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
6 min readJan 2, 2021

The motivation I wrote about FANATEC Podium DD

Though I’m a user of FANATEC CSW V2.5, of course, I’m still, also interested in the Direct Drive Wheelbase. If I can buy the direct drive, I will only choose the FANATEC. The reason is:

FANATEC Provides Customer support in Japan. (maybe this doesn’t matter to the people outside Japan.)

In Japan, though some sim racers use Simcube Direct Drive, if the malfunction happens, the user should return the product outside of Japan. As you may know, Japan is an island country, it’s a little difficult for me to manage after something happens even I can use English.

So, I’ll summarize what I know during researching the FANATEC Podium DDs. I am mainly keen on how different between DD1 and DD2.DD1.

Actually, I bought Podium DD1 after I wrote this article. Here is the review of my Podium DD1 compared with the CSW V2.5.

Podium DD2 $1500:High-End Model in FANATEC
Podium DD1 $1200:2nd High-End Model in FANATEC

After writing this article, I went a SIM shop and experienced the Podium DD2. I wrote about my experience and compared with my CSW V2.5 below.

The Point FANATEC DD2 Excels:

・FFB is stronger than that of DD1, Peak torque 24Nm
・Emergency Stop Button included
・5 year warranty

The Reason I can compromise and I’ll buy DD1 instead of DD2

・The DD1 FFB is strong enough (Peak torque 20Nm) and there seems no difference from DD2. And someone who used both said so.
The Alternative Emergency stop button can be installed by myself like below. (The picture is from my Twitter follower.)
(By the way, in this photo, he assembled the switch so that he turns off the entire DD and PC at once to protect the DD and PC power adapter when the SIM is not in use. If this idea is applied, it can also be used as an emergency stop switch.)
・The price difference is $300.

In the second tweet below, he wrote exaggerated way in Japanese :)

I recently introduced this central power management system and built a large power stop mechanism for SIM equipment including PCs for the SIM. It was a large construction with a total of 600 yen ($6)

This type of switch is mainly used as a traditional Japanese foot warmer the name “Kotatsu.” So his Japanese follower laughed that he used the traditional “Kotatsu” switch instead of the normal switch. But this switch is deeply considered for heating devices that use a lot of energy.

Japanese foot warmer “Kotatsu”

Anyway, with some ideas, we can equip an alternative emergency stop botton.
We can add the FANATEC-official emergency stop button. But the price is $100!!

Moreover, the Twitter follower provided me additional information.

・ For DD1 / DD2, the runaway won’t stop even if you press the power button on the back, so you need a kill switch.
・There are some products that “the LED does not turn off due to a weak current even when the switch is off”, so basically most products are fine, but be careful to choose them.
・ The upper “Kotatsu” switch can (probably) be completely off even the weak current.

So, as I’m a general public, I’ll buy DD1. After buying DD1, if I want to have a higher grade, I might think of Simcube or something like having a warehouse overseas instead of DD2, but I think I’m going to have DD1 for the first time.

By the Way, there’re Bundles

When I check the FANATEC Website, there is a great bundle (set product).
・Podium Wheel Base DD1
・ClubSport Steering Wheel Formula V2
・Podium Advanced Paddle Module
Total $1650. It is a $100 discount compared to buying them normally.

This package includes
・Podium Wheel Base DD1
・ClubSport Steering Wheel F1
・Podium Advanced Paddle Module
Total $1800. The point is that this bundle is compatible with PS4/PS5.

As for the ClubSport Steering Wheel F1, the paddle is originally attached, but the paddle with the optional 6 buttons is attractive. (In Japan, the discount is about $300 maybe because the original price is higher than in the US.)
In my case, when I step up in the future, I will sell the Clubsports Esports F1 wheel and the CSW V2.5, then I think I’ll buy the orange bundle. I don’t know when to buy it.

Podium Advanced Paddle Module

The original price is $180.

ClubSport Steering Wheel Formula V2

(The original price is $370.)

By the way, this is official mounting hardware ($250). Even if you don’t have this metal fitting, you can install the DD by making 5 mounting holes on the base plate. I think it has the merit of keeping your feet area spacious and nice-looking, but it is not absolutely necessary. I don’t think I will buy it because it can be installed if I make 2 additional holes in the cockpit where my CSW V2.5 is installed.

It seems that some people order Simlab products. This seems to be $ 80 and it seems to be cheaper than genuine FANATEC products.

Good-bye!

<My Related Article>

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2