An impression of the FANATEC Podium DD1 compared to the CSW V2.5

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
7 min readFeb 19, 2021

The impression of the FANATEC Podium DD2 in a Sim Shop

In August 2020, I got FANATEC CSW V2.5 and I thought this FFB was strong and precise enough, and considering the cost, I thought this gadget will satisfy most people.
In January 2021, I experienced DD2 at Sim shop in Akihabara, Tokyo and my impression at that time was “not so impressive.” Because the FFB was not so strong enough as the preset FFB is not so intense, my insensitive feeling couldn’t tell the big difference between CSW V2.5 and Podium DD2. At that time, I couldn’t say that Podium DD2 was much worth buying.

It was maybe because the FFB was limited in the software setting. Also, the shop provided rFactor 2 and Asset Corsa, which are not iRacing I enjoyed.

Eventually, I bought Podium DD1 because I want to try it with iRacing.

I wrote the reason here:

Though FANATEC’s CSW V2.5 performance is high enough to enjoy the Sim Racing, I’m finding a lot of excellence in Podium DD1 when I compared it with CSW V2.5. This is mainly because CSW V2.5 operates the shaft by belts. On the other hand, the Podium DD1 has the shaft directly extend from a high-torque motor. Generally speaking, a direct drive can provide non-delay and high torque compared to the belt drive.
Before showing the review I’ll tell you that I use FANATEC recommended setting for the Podium DD1. (At this link, you can find setting when you click the software you enjoy, and the setting will be the last page in your game category)

First Impression of FANATEC Podium DD1 compared to CSW V2.5

I’ll show you my impression below.

Slips of cars have been significantly reduced and stability increased greatly. The steering of a car always tends to go back to a stable direction with high torque and quick response. When I feel the rear wheels slipping due to oversteer, the FFB assists me much quicker and stronger than I return the steering to the stable direction by myself. I can say the “direct drive is an expensive automatic driving stabilizer.”

・ Though I didn’t drive on the Sim for one day, after replacing Podium DD1 from CSW V2.5, I soon updated the time during only two laps. This is maybe because I found out that the corner, where I thought the rear wheels were slipping with the CSW V2.5, was actually gripped with Podium DD1, which made it easier for me to step on the throttle pedal.

It’s difficult to put into words, but thanks to detailed FFB information, I became to deeply understand the condition of the tires and the road surface.

・Since FFB is too strong, the maximum output of Podium DD1 is set to 8Nm by me conservatively on the game side. Even so, I hold my breath and clench my teeth while curving the corner due to the high torque of FFB. With CSW V2.5, no matter how high the FFB is set, I didn’t feel so painful.

Podium DD1 → Maximum torque 20Nm, holding torque is 15Nm
CSW V2.5 → Maximum torque 8Nm

When the key to enabling the high torque mode is inserted, this description is displayed.

・ When I engaged in a time attack for about 2 hours, the next day I had pain in my wrists, arms, shoulders, pectoral muscles, and back muscles. So, this is a noteworthy training machine.

How are the noises of the FANATEC Podium DD1?

Basically, it’s almost silent. Even if I drive without the sound of the game software, it is very quiet. From CSW V2.5, sometimes a sharp FFB intervenes and makes a sound, but from Podium DD1, there is no such roughness.

I think this is because the cheap mats I bought are laid out. I bought the mats before installing the Podium DD1. Without it, FFB will vibrate the floor and you could hear the sound from the floor.

With CSW V2.5, the fan often exhausted heat with full power with big noise, but it’s too silent to hear the Podium DD1’s fan noise.

How to mount the FANATEC Podium DD1 to the Sim Cockpit?

I used the same holes for CSW V2.5 as below.

Negative Point

・ There is a very small amount of play when turning the steering wheel. You can feel when the car stopped. I think it’s a little play until the internal mechanisms like gears engage. If you turn the steering wheel when the power is off, you will feel the presence of the gears when rotating. However, I don’t feel the above two points during races.

Podium DD1 is long as shown below. So some people may have to reconsider the arrangement of display position and so on.

I changed the driving position. You can see my work below.

Power button locates on the back. When I reach for the switch on the back to turn off the Podium DD1, and my chin is just above the steering wheel. If I suddenly get a big FFB from the steering wheel, my face will get some impact.

Why I did NOT select Simucube’s direct drive?

I know people insist they prefer Simcube feeling. But I chose FANATEC Podium DD1 after considering it comprehensively.

・ FANATEC can be used on PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5. (FANATEC, which is not activated by Sony PlayStation sold in Japan, requires a product called Drive Hub)

・ FANATEC offers a wide range of reasonable steering options that can be used without a converter.
* If we include steering, the initial cost of FANATEC is lower. The genuine steering of Simucube is expensive. It is possible to attach FANATEC steering to Simucube, but the following converter is required. The converter depends on the steering, but the price is not low. The USB cable extends from the converter. There may also be a wireless converter.

  • The FANATEC wheelbase has a vibration function with the FANATEC steering built-in motor and the FANATEC pedal built-in motor.

That’s all! Thank you for reading!

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2