<Review> I experienced FANATEC Podium DD2 (Compared with my CSW V2.5)

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
5 min readJan 9, 2021

I experienced FANATEC Podium DD2, so I will write my impressions comparing it with CSW V2.5.

I went to a racing simulator shop in Akihabara, Japan. I chose a 30 minutes service for 2500 yen, about $25. (There are also options such as 1000 yen for 10 minutes and 5000 yen for 17: 00–20: 00.) I was allowed to play 10 minutes x 3 parts.

I tried sim driving with the following combinations:
1. Assetto Corsa, Porsche 911 (Maybe GT3R) in Nürburgring
2. rFactor2, Daralla F3 in Suzuka (FFB20, 50, 100% at FANATEC side)
The result of rFactor’s Dallara F3 in Suzuka was around 2.04.500. I’m not sure this is fast or slow.

The sim shop holds a time attack event. First, when I asked the clerk that I wanted to try DD, she recommended Asseto Corsa because it’s newer than the rFactor, and she explained the graphic is more beautiful. After a 10mins session, we talked about the time attack event, which uses rFactor2. So I jumped the software and tried a time attack.

FANATEC Podium DD2 Review

Obviously, FANATEC Podium DD2 has more torque than CSW V2.5, and I could feel the more instantaneous force, also I felt precise FFB.
There was a clear sharp shock when I got on the curb, so I had to be ready for the shock every time I crossed the curb.
The base of the thumb hurts very much in the test run every 10 minutes. The pain in the 10 minutes is harder than 30 minutes in CSW V2.5.

However, what surprised me, even more, was the excellent cost performance of my CSW V2.5. When I got home and raced at my CSW V2.5, I thought this was enough. Of course, the torque and precision of FFB are lower than DD2. This may be due to differences in home and simulator shop settings and software. The Podium DD2 was 3–4 times more expensive than the CSW V2.5, but when I touched the Podium DD2, I wasn’t impressed by the 3–4 times the CSW V2.5.

In fact, the FFB of the Podium DD2 at SIM shop was not so strong as I expected. That was maybe because the setting of rFactor 2 was not changed. Though a clerk changed the FFB from the steering wheel button, she didn’t change the setting on the rFactor 2. Anyway, compared to the Podium DD2 at the SIM shops, my CSW V2.5 seems good.
If I buy by myself, and driving with iRacing with some own setting, I can fairly compare. So please read this article just as a reference. I’ll try and review other Podium DDs in the future.

→Please note, after this experience, I actually bought Podium DD1 bundle below and the impression is different from the result in this sim shop, which I wrote on this page. After reading this page, please check my DD1 review also.

I found a very positive opinion below.

<My CSW V2.5 Review>

Certainly, Podium DD2 has the highest torque and instantaneous power in FANATEC. Perhaps this will greatly contribute to instantly detection of changes in the car’s posture and the road surface, which should help improve lap times.
However, as an Enjoy driver who has the CSW V2.5, I cannot express the impression other than the output from the CSW V2.5 becoming even larger.

In fact, the cockpit I experienced was interestingly equipped with Sim Pedals Sprint (Heusinkveld), 4-axis motion function, and vibration function. I will write about this next time.

My Conclusion for the FANATEC Podium DD Review

With CSW V2.5 and Podium DD, if you have a lot of budgets, you should buy Podium DD and you’ll have an interesting experience. Choosing a Podium DD should also contribute to lap times and race stability compared to CSW V2.5.

If you want to keep your budget down, I think CSW V2.5 is a really great option. This time I experienced Podium DD2 but didn’t want to buy a new Podium DD right away. If I make some big money, I think it will be a candidate for purchase for more stable driving.

Whether buying DD1 or DD2 is described here.

This time, I experienced the highest peak of FANATEC Podium DD2, but I was not quite impressed compared to CSW V2.5. So I imagine that the difference between DD1 and DD2 is very small.

Please check this review of my purchased DD1 bundle.

<Related articles>

<My Website>

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2