A story I shortened the lap times more than 1 second by Using a USB cable enclosed with FANATEC CSL Elite Pedal Loadcell Kit

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
4 min readJan 23, 2021

After I reconsider and configurated the setting of the FANATEC CSL Elite Pedal Loadcell Kit, I soon shortened the lap time drastically.

When I purchased the FANATEC CSL Elite Pedal Loadcell Kit, I used the same cable as the thin telephone line that originally connected from the FANATEC CSL Elite Pedal and the wheelbase of the main unit. This ↓

In this case, there are restrictions compared to the USB connection.

・ Maximum pedaling force is smaller than that with USB
・ The signal resolution of the accelerator, brake and clutch is 12 bits (4096).
On the other hand, if you connect via USB, the brake will be 16 bits (65536). The accelerator and clutch remain 12 bits.

I was worried that the first maximum pedaling force was small though I had gotten the FANATEC CSL Elite Pedal Loadcell Kit.

Because when I stepped on it, the brake was often locked, so I was always scared and couldn't step on it deeply.

First, I changed the telephone cable to the included USB.

The driver will be installed automatically.

At “Brake” above, I set the brakes to 90 and set the Max and Min for each pedal. If you are confident in your legs, 100 may be fine.

The 100% brake signal will be not transmitted unless I depress the brake hard enough that the joint between the chair and cockpit will creak*. (I choose the hardest rubber “95” version)

The reason why I use the hardest rubber↓ Please refer to the “Pedals” chapter.

As a result, I am able to step on the brake deeply and quickly with confidence, decelerate without locking, and enter the curve with confidence.

The numerical result is as follows, and the time was updated by 1 second in just one race. (Actually, I updated the lap time in 4,5 laps.)

iRacing Zolder Circuit F3

Best 1: 24.249 during races before the USB connection
Best 1: 23.021 during the first race after the USB connection

As USB is an original accessory, so there is no cost. If you are still using the phone line, please give it a try.

(Note) It may have been influenced by checking how to drive on Youtube video while searching about USB, but I was able to confirm that it was visibly faster just by adjusting the brake.

(Reference) There’s the Manual about the FANATEC CSL Elite Pedals and it explains the USB connection from page 29.

About the part “I depress the brake hard enough that the joint between the chair and cockpit will creak*”

The seat is fixed on this, but when the brake is stepped on and a load is applied to the back part of the seat, the front part of the parallel top frame floats slightly (Red-arrow parts). It floats even when the screws are tightened. The reason is simple: Number and the way I use the L-shaped bracket. I have to add the bracket or consider supporting the frames from the bottom.

<Related articles>

<My Website>

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2