The steering position does not change even if you change from FANATEC QR1 to QR2 | MASK | Blog |

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
3 min readOct 6, 2023

Some of the links on this site include advertisements to maintain and facilitate my review activity.

The steering position does not change even if you change from FANATEC QR1 to QR2 | MASK | Blog |

I recently upgraded from FANATEC’s QR1 to QR2 as shown in the article below.

Then, someone asked me on Twitter (X), “Will the steering wheel position remain the same if I change from QR1 to QR2?”

That person built and used a maniac but beautiful sim rig made by welding for the DD1 & Formula V2.5 steering, so if he changes to the QR2 and the steering position is too far back or towards him, he will have to remove the weld and rebuild it.

I’ve tried various measurements, but my conclusion is that the steering position doesn’t change at all.

FANATEC QR1 & DD1 dimensions

When I measured the length of the part from the shaft of FANATEC Podium DD1, it was exactly 100mm = 10cm. ( I’m not sure your country uses units, I’ll use the meter.)

I could use a cooler metal caliper, but I don’t live a lifestyle that requires an accuracy of less than 1mm, so I use a very cheap plastic-made one.

FANATEC QR2 & DD1 dimensions

First, I measured the distance from the black collar to the QR2 wheel side as below.

Reference: As for the instruction manual, this black collar should be located to the front as far as the shaft tip on the DD1 side.

To answer his question, I took the trouble to remove the already installed QR2 (lol) and took measurements.

It’s about 76mm.

So, the tip of Podium DD1 was 24mm, and the length of QR2 wheel-side was 76mm, so if you add it up, it should be about 100mm.

Then, It’s obvious that the position is the same as when we used the original QR1.

Reference information: From October 5th, Podium DD1 includes QR1 and QR2, and the price has been significantly reduced as below.

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2