Tips to Prevent CSL Elite Pedals from Chattering

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
4 min readJan 1, 2021

Some people in Japan are suffering from the output signal chattering from FANATEC CSL Elite Pedals. I wrote the tips on how to prevent it.

I wrote over 60 articles on a Japanese website. And I sometimes receive information from my Twitter friends. In October, I bought CSL Elite Pedals Loadcell Kit, and I showed off pictures of my assembled loadcell kit. After watching my pedals below, my Twitter follower gave me information to prevent the CSL Elite Pedal Malfunction.

The Tip is to Cover the Detector with a Plate.

I’m not sure this method is common in other countries. My Japanese follower used a rubber plate to cover the detector in order NOT to stick the dust to the detector. And this method seems common in Japanese SIM racers. He said the rubber shavings from the shoes will come into the detector, and they cause chattering of the output signal within 6 months after buying the pedal. (Some people said the cause of the dust.)

Soon I heard this, I imitated the method. I covered the detector of the clutch and the acceleration pedal.

My CSL Elite Pedals (The clutch pedal)

My CSL Elite Pedals (The Acceleration pedal)

I used pedals for about 6 months but I haven’t experienced any malfunction with the pedals.

I removed the rubber plates. It seemed that I cut them very roughly.

And I was very surprised that very less dust was found as shown in the below pictures. Actually, I wiped some dust around the gear and detector to take pictures, but I haven’t wiped the gear and detector at all!!
I want to say again. Today is January 1st, and I bought the CSL Elite Pedals in July and I attached covers in October. After I covered them, I haven’t removed the plates!!

Accelerate Pedal(Left), Clutch Pedal (Right)

The experience from another Japanese follower

He suffered from the chattering, and he sometimes sprayed the lube oil to the detector but the chattering sometimes happened. And he asked me the solution to solve the problem. Then I gave the information above in October.

He reported his problem with DM

He sent me a DM as a new year greeting on Twitter DM. He reported that his pedals’ problem seems to be solved. Because after he took measure a few months ago, he hasn’t had any problem with the pedal chattering.

Reporting with the new year greeting on DM

This method seems effective. I think.

Other solutions

Some other Japanese guy, set the pedals inverted not to dust come into the detector. I think it cost more than putting on the rubber plate…

“Inverted” means to set the pedal on the upper frame like this. (Note: This is not a CSL Elite Pedals)

<Related Articles>

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2