Tips for Choosing Triple Screen for iRacing

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
3 min readJan 16, 2021

--

I play iRacing with this system below. Actually, I broke the TV and now I played it with 24 inches screen. So I tried to equip triple screens before I bought Oculus Quest 2. So I wrote the information I got when I searched about the triple screen for the sim racing.

My PC

Unit is Japanese yen ($1=around 100yen)

Windows 10 14,000
CPU (AMD Ryzen 5 3500) 13,980
Mother board (AsRock B450) 9,300
SSD (Western Digital SSD 500GB WD Blue SN550 PC M.2–2280 NVMe WDS500G2B0C-EC) 7,980
Memory (Crucial by Micron W4U2666CM-8G) 7,280
Cooling Fin and Fan (KOTETSU MARK2) 3,580
PC Box (Fractal design define 5) 10,980
Power (Antec NE750 GOLD) 10,480
Graphic Board (ZOTAC RTX2070SuperMINI) 53,980
Total around 130,000

<My Oculus Quest 2>

When I tweeted about the triple screens, my Japanese Twitter followers answered a lot.

・ Some people are satisfied with 24 inches.
・ Cut the cardboard and imagine if you can be satisfied with 24 inches.
・ 27 inches are quite expensive
・ You have to buy 144Hz rather than 60Hz
・ Monitor frame should be slim
・ IPS is recommended because color is little change from any angles. GTG 2ms or less or 1MPRT are recommended
・ It is safer to use IPS or VA. TN liquid crystal is likely to change color when viewed from the side
・ The distance between the eyes and the monitor is about 60 to 70 cm. For 27 inches, it’s better to set the display a little further
-With 82Hz VR, Skip Barber racing has no problem. But when the vehicle speed becomes faster like F3, a higher refresh rate would be easier.
・ ↓ This was recommended. (Sorry for the Japanese) Three sheets exceed $800 yen …

Japanese follower’s 3–27 inches Display

He wrote, “He set triple 27inchs display in August.”

The name of the display is “AOC C27G1/11.”

Some followers consider Funny Tips

・ With iRacing, it is possible to set a slow monitor of 60Hz on both sides, such as 144Hz only in the center.
・The program in iRacing optimizes the speed of the monitor. For other games, it is mandatory to use the basic NVIDIA SURROUND function for 3 screens. With the NVIDIA SURROUND feature, the monitor speed is set to the slower side.
* Therefore, when playing games other than iRacing, it is necessary to prepare three fast monitors from the beginning. In addition, when you play iRacing, you have to turn off SURROUND, and when you play other games, restore SURROUND. The switching is troublesome. It’s a little difficult to play multiple games.

I received comments from a Japanese famous Youtuber in a certain area in Japan.

I’m thinking of trying one ultra-wide display and two 27-inch left and right displays without using NVIDIA SURROUND. If I’m not satisfied, I plan to buy another same 27-inch display and replace Ultra Wide with 3 FHD to make it SURROUND.

In addition, such a plan was confirmed on Twitter.

I’m thinking of using two 32-inch displays, which will result in the border will be located in the center.

I’m happy these inspirations help you.

<My Website>

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2