Film Review — Jurassic World Dominion

A just-about passable entry in a past-its-best series that needs to become extinct

Simon Dillon
Simon Dillon Cinema

--

Credit: Universal

The golden summer of 1993 was hugely important for yours truly. I turned eighteen, and Steven Spielberg’s Jurassic Park smashed box office records, becoming a global phenomenon and (at that point) the biggest film of all time. I remember the electrifying, intensely exciting experience of seeing the film in the front row of the THX-equipped High Wycombe UCI cinema (as it was then). No one had seen anything like it before. We were absolutely blown away. A part of me felt as though Spielberg made this film to celebrate my coming of age; a last hurrah that marked the end of the many times he had thrilled me as a child. In a way, I felt like we came of age together; me to adulthood, and him as a filmmaker to more mature directorial subject matter, as his next film was Schindler’s List.

Fast forward twenty-nine years, and my reaction to the latest instalment in the lucrative dino series is a shrug of indifference. Jurassic World Dominion isn’t terrible. It contains a modicum of adequately enjoyable special effects-laden box-ticking that blockbuster moviegoers may find moderately agreeable. But it’s a greatest hits compilation of a film, bringing back the cast from the original film alongside the newer cast, and playing them…

--

--

Simon Dillon
Simon Dillon Cinema

Novelist and Short Story-ist. Film and Book Lover. If you cut me, I bleed celluloid and paper pulp. Blog: www.simondillonbooks.wordpress.com