Can you make it rain HARDER?

Simone Brunozzi
Simone Brunozzi
Published in
2 min readMay 6, 2016
Prince at the Super Bowl XLI (credit: Getty images)

Super Bowl XLI (61st). Year 2007.
Prince was scheduled to open the ceremony with a musical performance.
But it was raining like hell.

(you can watch a very short, but BEAUTIFUL, documentary about it here, as the smart guys at NFL don’t want anybody to embed it).

This is how the discussion is recalled in the documentary:

We’re in this truck sitting behind (producer) Don Mischer, and I remember Don said, ‘Put me on the phone with Prince’.
Don says (to Prince), ‘I want you to know it’s raining.’ … and Prince was like, ‘
Can you make it rain harder?
And I was like, ‘Right on!’

Can you make it rain harder?

What’s special about it is the attitude. The fact that no matter what happens, it’s not going to prevent you from giving all your best. No rain, no adversity, is going to stop you. You’re MORE. You’re BEYOND.

I have been a fan of Prince, even though I only liked some of his music.
After his death, new things came out about his generosity and social involvement. But I will always remember, when facing adversity, that I have a choice between complaining about the rain, or simply saying:

Can you make it rain harder?

I hope this will always be my motto in life.
Thank you, Prince.

--

--

Simone Brunozzi
Simone Brunozzi

Tech, startups and investments. Global life. Italian heart.