Donald Trump has won

Simone Brunozzi
Simone Brunozzi
Published in
5 min readJan 13, 2016

Yes, a provocative title. Why not? I’ve learned from the Master.

Donald Trump pointing at me and saying “You’re learning, kid!” (photo credits)

I smile every time I chat about Donald Trump with any of my American friends.
I smile, because “this is a movie I’ve already seen”, as we say in Italy. I’ve been living in San Francisco for almost four years now, but I grew up in Italy and lived there until I was 30 years old (I am now 38).
Why is Italy important?
Let me tell you this: Donald Trump is the closest political thing to Italy’s Berlusconi, with all the pros and cons. And let me remind you that, against all odds, Berlusconi ruled Italy for most of the past 20 years.
The reason why I smile, though, is that most of Trump’s tactics to capture the attention of the public and gain popularity are all old tricks to me — Berlusconi’s politics were my “school” for 15 years.
My American friends keep saying that Trump won’t last. They’ve been saying this for months now. They’re wrong!
In fact, I am not even surprised to see that “the Donald” is the most mentioned US presidential candidate on Television (and on Internet as well).
Or, in other words, to see that essentially Donald Trump HAS WON.
Hillary is a distant second. Everybody else is almost irrelevant.

(source)

The American Berlusconi (Trumpusconi?)

The strategy used by Trump is very simple: he knows that the political debate on TV is not rational and cannot be a long, sustained flow of thoughts, logically connected to each other (the ones in which Hillary Clinton would have no contestant). The political debate is irrational, exuberant, fast like a climax. It explodes in a second, lasts a few more, and dies as quickly.
Donald Trump knows this. No matter how silly, stupid, crazy his ideas and provocations are, the public focuses all the attention on him for these few seconds, until a new, even more provocative thought, comes along.
At times, Donald Trump even looks intelligent (I am not say he isn’t; but to an educated, intelligent viewer, most of his claim make him appear ignorant and simplistic). He doesn’t believe everything he says, of course, but he knows that his only chance to compete in this presidential campaign is to play the game that he knows best: the Berlusconi game.
By the way, I’ve never seen a politician say EXACTLY what he thinks. A politician’s apparition is to gain votes, not to be honest with you.

Ok, you want an example of Donald’s wit? Look at this (we start easy):
“Islamic terrorism is eating large portions of the Mideast. They’ve become rich. I’m in competition with them.” (source)
Let’s break it up.
First, it doesn’t say anything actionable. It just fills you up with anger against presumed “terrorists”, clicks with the natural tendency of Americans to be against muslims, and creates a bond with the audience. He’s in competition with them — he’s on YOUR side.
And that’s it. He won some popularity. Not of EVERY American, but of a big share of Americans that listen to this.

Another example:
“The concept of global warming was created by and for the Chinese in order to make U.S. manufacturing non-competitive.” (source)
Wow. Any person with a bit of intelligence knows that this is total bulls%#t. And yet, instead of simply saying “Global warming is a fad” (and losing his face), he instantly creates an enemy in the same sentence and make you focus your attention to it. Instantly, for MANY people, this might actually be true.
But Trump knows the Chinese didn’t invent anyting. But he also knows that environmental laws make US manufacturing more expensive than their Chinese counterparts. So, to someone not paying too much attention, well… His phrase might make sense.

Look at this other gem:
On the future of the Affordable Care Act: “Remember, Obamacare really kicks in in ’16. 2016. Obama’s gonna be out playing golf. He might even be on one of my courses. I would invite him, I actually would say it. I have the best courses in the world so I’d say, you know what if he wants to. I have one right next to the White House. Right on the Potomac. If he’d like to play, that’s fine. In fact, I’d love him to leave early and play.”

Wow. This is a masterful piece of amazing PR at its best.
Look at how he practically destroyed Obamacare, without talking about it!
The only other person in the world that can do this better than Trump is actually Berlusconi. Yes, seriously. You have no idea. (I also think that Berlusconi is more intelligent than an already intelligent Trump).

Last example:
On America’s borders: “I would build a great wall. And nobody builds walls better than me, believe me. And I’ll build them very inexpensively. I will build a great great wall on our southern border and I’ll have Mexico pay for that wall.”
I can’t believe how SMART this provocation is. SMART, because he’s not saying he wants to kick illegals out (at least, NOT in this declaration — he says it elsewhere).
He’s saying that he wants to build a WALL. And for TENS OF MILLIONS of Americans, this is the only guy that is offering a solution to the fears that they have. Doesn’t matter what the real impact on the economy will be, this is a POLITICAL GAME, remember?

As I told you earlier, I live in San Francisco, and I will continue to for at least another few years. I am sure I will enjoy watching how the American public will get to know Donald Trump over the years.
Will he win the presidential race? Who knows. What I am sure of is that he has already won something even more precious: influence and power.
Hat tip to him. You think he’s a fool, believe me when I say he’s quite the opposite.
Well played, Don.

Oh, wait: you would like me to comment on the substance of his declaration? Don’t even get me started. Nothing could be more wrong than what Trump has said. And yet, if this is the question you have for me, you have missed my entire post.

If you try to beat Trump by counter arguments, you have lost. You can win in a book, or in a long discussion among constructive individuals.
You will always lose if you bring this fight to his turf, and accept his terms.

--

--

Simone Brunozzi
Simone Brunozzi

Tech, startups and investments. Global life. Italian heart.