How Minimalism Fosters Productivity

Jennifer Chan
Simple, Not Easy
Published in
6 min readJun 30, 2018

--

Less choice. Less tools. Less Friction. Less Urgency.

What environment do you produce your best work? Do you like to be surrounded by books, hanging artwork, and sentimental items? Or do you prefer an empty space with nothing but the tools of your trade?

Contrary to conventional minimalism, I work best when I’m surrounded by clutter of my own making. Minimalist desk setups are beautiful to look at, but my favourite articles have come when stacks of books, papers, and pens developed a fortress around my laptop. The blend of words from my literary idols and my own thoughts scribbled haphazardly on various sheets of paper on my desk defines, in large part, my creative process. I need abundance in order to think.

But, where minimalism has stepped into my workflow, is when I need to battle the resistance. In the words of Steven Pressfield, “Resistance is not a peripheral opponent. Resistance arises from within. It is self-generated and self-perpetuated. Resistance is the enemy within.”

The first step to battling resistance is to figure yourself out. Are you a morning person or a night owl? Do you find working in a busy coffee shop cathartic or a horrible idea? How do you organize your list of tasks and their correlated deadlines?

--

--

Jennifer Chan
Simple, Not Easy

Productivity, craftsmanship, and the pursuit of excellence at work. Writing now at jennifertchan.substack.com.