Unsolicited Career Advice from a 29-Year-Old Lawyer

Jennifer Chan
Simple, Not Easy
Published in
5 min readJul 2, 2019

--

On Risk, Skill Development, and Avoiding Easy Money.

Last month I entered my fourth year of practising law, which caused me to reflect on how my career has developed thus far and the influence work and money have had in my life.

As a minimalist, I have always engaged in a delicate balancing act between my professional ambitions and adhering to what is enough — a hard feat in an industry that prides itself on outworking and outperforming our fellow peers. Law has a traditional narrative that the more money one makes, the more successful one is (despite that the economics of each area of law is different).

I thought I would share some unsolicited advice after evolving from a baby lawyer to, perhaps, an infant lawyer…

Your Career is a Marathon, Not a Sprint

Your working life will likely take up most of your life, so it’s important to take your time and make sure you are making informed decisions.

We aspire to be the young hotshot that shoots to fame and fortune before they hit thirty but that is very much the exception to the rule.

Reality is much more boring. You start slow, learn as you experience setbacks, and see a steady increase in income over time. The height of your career…

--

--

Jennifer Chan
Simple, Not Easy

Productivity, craftsmanship, and the pursuit of excellence at work. Writing now at jennifertchan.substack.com.