7 Magic Phrases That Make You Instantly Likable on Video Calls

“I love the way you think.”

Michael Thompson
SIMPLE

--

Photo by Matilda Wormwood from Pexels

I received the ultimate “Can I pick your brain?” email. Quarantine had just begun here in Spain, but I was already feeling burned out from everyone’s initial infatuation with Zoom.

Is it cool if we just do an old-fashioned phone call?” I replied.

I’d prefer video,” the man immediately shot back. “There’s something cool I’d like to show you.

I wanted to insist, but after giving him a warning that my apartment wasn’t very big and I didn’t always get to chose when my youngest son cries, I gave in.

The next day, however, not even 5 minutes into our call, he asked to do a screen-share and tried to sell me on a product he was pushing.

Despite not being able to see my knuckles turn white, I thought for sure he’d picked up on the fact that my face was cemented in a permanent yawn.

Fortunately, I didn’t have to cut him off as shortly after he started his pitch our apartment exploded into tears and I jumped on the opening to end the call.

Much like in “real” life, during video calls, some people have said or done something that rubbed me the wrong way. But for every call that could have gone better, there have been just as…

--

--

Michael Thompson
SIMPLE

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT