If You Want to Stand Out, Keep Yourself Small

Few qualities are more attractive than quiet confidence

Michael Thompson
SIMPLE

--

Photo by Des Récits on Unsplash

My friend Kevin Ervin Kelley, AIA recently shared a piece of wisdom I hope to always carry with me.

Much like a ghostwriter, Kevin’s a “ghostdesigner.” For over thirty years, Kevin’s company has assisted hundreds of household brands and mom-and-pop shops to thrive in our ever-changing world by focusing on creating places and spaces that bring people together.

Kevin isn’t the biggest guy. At five-foot-eight-inches, most of the CEOs and executives he meets with tower over him.

“It’s interesting to observe how people respond when I walk into the room holding my notebook and pen surrounded by my colleagues who have a more commanding presence,” he told me. “Countless times, people looked right past me and assumed one of the bigger guys on our team was the owner and I was there to take notes. At first, this pissed me off. I wanted to make my importance known. But I learned very quickly how much of an advantage being unassuming can be. People immediately felt comfortable around me and spoke freely which is key in building trust.”

I love this about Kevin.

The guy’s a rarity.

--

--

Michael Thompson
SIMPLE

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT