Screw Following Your Passion and Do What Hurts Instead

Good things happen when we follow our blisters

Michael Thompson
SIMPLE
Published in
4 min readApr 6, 2021

--

2:58.

I looked at the clock again.

2:59.

Fumbling. I logged into email and clicked on the Zoom link and was immediately met with 53 faces who scared the breath outta me.

My assignment was simple: for 30, I’d share my story and provide some tips to help already-tall writers grow in a new field.

If you’ve read anything from me in the past, you’re probably aware I’m not a big fan of groups larger than two. You may have also read that I’m definitely not big into Zoom. Add in the fact that the audience was a group of seriously accomplished people, and it led to the perfect trifecta of me cursing the name of the man who’d invited me to speak.

I couldn’t tell you much about what I said. Once I get started, I have a tendency to blackout. But something interesting happened when the clock struck done. Despite not knowing if I’d done a good job or not, I felt like I’d won.

If you want to find your bliss, follow your blisters

If you asked most people what we should do to get what we want out of life, a lot of them would share the same advice — “Do…

--

--

Michael Thompson
SIMPLE
Editor for

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT