One Good Thing That’s Keeping Me Going

What’s Yours?

Ava Marcus
Simple Story Seekers
2 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

I’ve been feeling a bit down lately. Housework never seems to end. My father-in-law ended up in the hospital again. He’s having surgery on Sunday. My daughter had a hearing test and the results show she has hearing loss. I need to take care of that, too. And….and….and….

It’s a lot of stuff.

I decided one morning that I was going to wash the sheets on my bed. I felt gross from passing out in my clothes for the last long time. I stripped the bed and loaded everything into the washing machine.

I had to stay up a few hours later. I kept telling myself it was going to be worth it.

Oh, and it was absolutely worth it!

Woman making her bed.
Like this lady, I love using my weighted blanket. Photo by Slaapwijsheid.nl on Unsplash

While the sheets were in the dryer, I took a shower. I used the “guest soap” (what my children call really nice-smelling soap). I washed my hair.

I made my bed. The sheets were still warm from the dryer. I snuggled in and quickly went to sleep.

I woke up feeling more human than I have felt in a while. I didn’t even mind my son waking me up at 4:30 a.m. I felt so good in the clean, warm sheets.

What’s one good thing that happened to you that kept you going this week?

Did you enjoy this story? Then you’d like these stories also published in Simple Story Seekers:

I liked this one of adaptability during uncertainty:

I had a similar experience to this writer, and also recently got rid of cleaning help for the better:

--

--