Ten Questions with Aaron Dowd

Learn more about Simplecast’s new Podcaster Success Lead

Simplecast
Simplecast
3 min readDec 19, 2017

--

Today we are excited to welcome Aaron Dowd to Simplecast as Podcaster Success Lead.

Aaron brings 5 years of extensive experience with podcast production and post production. He shares a strong passion for helping podcasters be successful, and has devoted the past few years of his career in doing just that.

But who is Aaron, really? We’re glad you asked. During a recent week-long all-hands trip to the Capital Region of New York, we sat down with him to ask a few questions to find out.

Selfie made possible by our friends at the Troy Innovation Garage.

What excites you, professionally?

I get really excited about helping people define their vision and turn it into a reality. Especially if their vision includes a podcast or other audio content.

What book(s) are you reading right now… any good?

The non-fiction book I’m working through right now is Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Harari. It’s a great book, full of interesting insights about why humans are the way we are. It’s the kind of book that changes the way you think about life and society. I got it after hearing the author interviewed on a podcast, plus a ton of smart people have recommended it. I try to pay attention to and get books that keep popping up in conversations over and over.

What was the last gift you gave someone?

I like to reach out to people and tell them I’m grateful for them and what they do. I think if it makes them feel good for a few minutes, it’s a good gift.

Other than that, I’m about to give a great book to the lead singer in my band. It’s about starting a business while working a full-time job. I think he’s gonna like it.

What’s your favorite thing to do on the weekend?

I kinda treat the weekends the same as I treat the weekdays; I try to do as many things that I love doing as possible. So writing, creating, exercise, reading, making music. I like to spend a little more time outside on the weekends, so I’ll play a couple games of basketball or go for a bike ride with my roommate.

What are three podcasts you listen to every week?

Exponent, The Daily, and Waking Up.

What’s your favorite place to listen to a podcast?

I’ve heard 45 minutes of exercise makes you smarter. I like to ride my bike or run while listening to a great podcast so it’s like a 2x multiplier. I live near downtown Fort Worth, Texas, so there’s lots of neighborhoods and trails for running and bike riding. Bike rides are especially great for listening to podcasts, running is still a little bit uncomfortable and sometimes my earbuds fall out.

Finish this sentence: “If I’m not podcasting, I’m….”

If I’m not podcasting, I’m probably either reading a book, riding my bike, or playing a show with the punk band I’m in. Music is the reason I got into podcasting in the first place, so it’s my favorite way to relax and get away from the screens for awhile. Although I’m likely to still end up working on podcast stuff on the road. It’s just all fun.

What excites you about working on Simplecast?

I’m excited to be helping Simplecast help podcasters be successful. So many people haven’t started a podcast yet because it’s too technically or creatively challenging. There are people who are already podcasting but who could be more successful with just a little bit of help. I’m excited to be helping those people and using what I learn to help other podcasters at whatever experience level.

How do you define success?

I define success as being able to work on the projects I want to work on, and with the people I want to work with, learning and growing in the process. Also helping other people do the same. If I get to spend all my time doing things I love doing, I’m succeeding.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I’m really happy with what I am now; an educator, podcaster, writer, audio engineer, drummer, and someone who helps cool people make cool things. I guess that means I’m grown up, but being grown up has been pretty sweet so far.

You can follow Aaron Dowd on Twitter at @ThePodcastDude, or subscribe to his YouTube channel.

--

--

Simplecast
Simplecast

A reimagined, more powerful Simplecast is launching soon! Sign up to be among the first to get access.