Big Wins For Others, Small Wins For You

Varun Yadav
@Simplifiedd
Published in
2 min readMar 24, 2023

A few years ago, I was watching a programme on TV with my elder brothers. I don’t remember the exact moment when and why the talk began on the following subject.

(Daniel Reche from Pixabay)

But one of my elder brothers started telling us how he had won a national-level photography competition in the children's category when he was mere 10 years old.

“Did you get something for this?” I asked.

“Yes, I got a camera as a prize and my name came on a ticker on a regional TV channel,” he replied.

“What’s the big deal? It just came on a ticker on a regional channel. Hardly few people saw the name” I said aptly as I felt it was not a big deal if someone’s name coming on the ticker for a moment.

He replied instantly: I saw it.

That’s it. These three words summed up everything. He didn’t have to say more as we had understood the significance of them.

My elder brother’s answer still rings into my ears like indelible ink, wringing my soul to go deep inside into the depth and length of the thought.

We are the sole narrator of our story. If we don’t get happy watching our success even a little one, who then will be?

Big successes come with great pomp and splendour. You will get wishes, calls and messages from others, praising your efforts, hard work and determination. It’s for the public and all will see you as a star. As a dream comes true.

Big Wins Are For Others, Small Wins Are For You

Your journey toward your dreams isn’t linear. It’s having own ups and downs, with long stays at some points and many loop ways. That means you have to wrestle on the pathway to go to the peak, which passes through some deep trenches. Hence, you will win and lose each day.

We forget to celebrate the small wins that are vital parts of our journey to dreams. Life isn’t linear where you may grow on a single line, getting success after facing hardship. It’s kind of a zig-zag with so many ups and downs.

Some wins aren’t for others, they are for you.

They have to be cherished, enjoyed and savoured like the most important moments of your life. Not lesser than big achievements, in fact, sometimes more important than the big ones. They prepare you for the bigger success in life.

Yes, others won’t call, wish, or praise you for them. Is it actually matter? I don’t think so. You have to get proud of them. They are for you.

Just believe in yourself, and you will realize that even those small steps taken in the right direction can produce great results.

Thanks For Reading!

--

--

Varun Yadav
@Simplifiedd

Journalist | Author | Story-Teller | Hi there! A writer who loves to write on Biz, Tech and Human Interest. My Twitter - https://twitter.com/authorvarun97