SIMPLIFYING TECH: Ejimoo

Vicky Flores Najas
SimplifyingTech
Published in
3 min readDec 26, 2019
Source: Ejimoo

I recently listened to a Gary Vaynerchuk podcast in which Gary was asking Charli D’Amelio, from TikTok fame, about her top used apps. She started listing the usuals: Instagram, SnapChat, YouTube, Twitter, and of course TikTok. Then, her sister stopped and said: “what about Ejimoo?”

EJIMOO? I thought. How do you spell that? What is it?

I went on the App Store and started trying to find it: ijimu, ijimoo, ejimu…

After a few iterations, I found the right one:

Source: Ejimoo

The first thing I saw after downloading the app was their tagline:

Minimal Platform, Maximum Life

Intrigued, I filled in the sign up sheet, and verified my phone number to activate my account. After a little bit of research, I found out that the reason that Ejimoo uses phone verification instead of email is to try to tackle the problem of fake accounts.

Once my account was activated, I was greeted by the main feed, which to my surprise, was in black and white.

When I went to fill in my own account, I was excited by the options to link my other social media profiles to the “profile bar”:

Source: Ejimoo

On the Ejimoo website, I took a look at their mission and how it related to their minimum platform, maximum life tagline. Some of the things that stood out to me were:

  1. Condensed content. Videos can only be up to 30 seconds long and captions are maxed at 99 characters.
  2. Black and white content. This is intended to remind users that the images on the platform are not real life. On top of this, there are no filters or editing features on the app.
  3. No “invasive ads. Ejimoo states that they may add advertising in the future but that it will not be invasive or targeted advertisement.
  4. No comments. This is meant to reduce negative and toxic comments.
  5. Off on Sunday. This was the most interesting feature in my opinion. From 5am on Sunday morning until 5 am on Monday morning, Ejimoo shuts off. Reminded me of the Kanye song, which is still stuck inside my head.

The main feedback I have been reading about the app, is about how refreshing it is.

With support from the D’Amelios, maybe this new app can gain popularity and become another prominent app on the phones of millions of teenagers.

“My family is happy to join the Ejimoo team. We believe in their mission and hope we can help the platform grow into something really great.” — Marc D’Amelio, father of TikTok stars Charli and Dixie D’Amelio

We haven’t really had a new successful social media platform since Snapchat or TikTok, so I am excited to see if Ejimoo can grow and scale, or if it is destined to be another Peach

Thank you for letting me simplify tech for you today. If you enjoyed this piece, please click the 👏button below to recommend it.

If you want me to write about your business/startup or just want to recommend a topic for a future post —

Contact me on Twitter: @vickyfloresn

SIMPLIFYINGTECH: HVMN Ketone ← Previous

--

--

Vicky Flores Najas
SimplifyingTech

marketing irl @microsoft @xbox & web3 @expansionpunks ✨latina 👩🏻‍💻trying to make #web3 more diverse, accessible & inclusive @welcometoweb3