Dear Fat People, It’s Your Fault You’re Fat

Mason Sabre
A Mind Interrupted
Published in
9 min readJul 7, 2021

--

Apparently, all you need to do is stop eating so much

Photo by Christopher Williams on Unsplash

I apologise if the title triggers you. This was the title of an old video I saw on YouTube. I’m not discussing that video here. You can go and watch it by searching on YouTube if you want to see it, but she had this basic idea of just stop eating so much, and I wanted to see if it’s really that simple.

Being Overweight is Your Fault, Or Is It?

If I’ve learnt one thing as a parent of daughters and a man married to a woman, it’s that weight loss, and the agony of it seems to be a plight geared towards women. Sure, men are roped onto this bandwagon too, but my God, what a cash cow weight and image is for the industries peddling their weight loss programs and fitness applications, not to mention the pull-in underwear and the pants to suck it in and spread it out.

There seems to be a remedy for every wobbly part of our bodies. I even saw a Tiktok video yesterday showing women how to use clothing pegs to eliminate their double chins.

Weight is A High Priority on People’s Agendas

It isn’t just what I see on my brief stints with social media; it’s sitting in my back garden, listening to the women in my life. I have a wife, two daughters and…

--

--

Mason Sabre
A Mind Interrupted

Mason is an author and a teacher. He loves to write and read and will always be a life-long learner. https://www.patreon.com/masonsabre