How to Build New Habits to Feel Normal Again

Your routine has to change, and here’s an easy way to do that.

Patricia Davis
Simply Living and Living Simply

--

I get distracted easily and find it difficult to just get into a routine, if there is nothing to force that. I retired from teaching, so my regular routine changed. Then the pandemic hit, and it changed again. I began to feel my life was draining away. I was sitting around, putting on the quarantine 15.

That’s not why I retired.

I had plans.

I had a bucket list, but I wasn’t doing any of it.

So I built myself a schedule to develop a habit. Without that habit, I would never get started on the thing that matters to me. This helps me focus on my purpose, and it will do the same for you.

Figure out what must get done.

What I must do will look different than what you must do, but for me, it mostly consists of chores. I don’t want chores to take up my entire daily life, so I need to break them down so I spend two hours or less each day. I can get up, do my two hours of chores and move on to what really matters to me.

First, I made a list of everything I must get done during the week. I hate cleaning but hate a dirty house more. It makes me anxious, so I have to do it…

--

--

Patricia Davis
Simply Living and Living Simply

Pat blogs about food, sustainability, and living simply. Sourdough is a particular passion. She also writes historical fiction with social justice themes.