Simply JavaScript: learn šŸ’» computer science and programming in the worldā€™s most ubiquitous language (introduction and index)

Jason Barr
Simply Web Development
3 min readOct 29, 2019

Some time ago I searched for JavaScript tutorials for beginners that were consistently written with a modern declarative/functional style from early on. I had great difficulty in finding any, so I decided to consider writing my own.

Two days later I had a completely unwieldy outline for a tutorial program that would have taken months if not years to write, in keeping with my general tendency to plan enormous projects I will probably never finish. I kept it for posterity, although the current series will almost certainly be far more modest. šŸ˜‰

Introducing Simply JavaScript

Simply JavaScript is my attempt to create a series of tutorials teaching solid, modern programming techniques and computer science basics through the JavaScript programming language.

The title is an homage to Simply Scheme, an introductory computer science text published in the late 1990s for Berkeley undergraduates to prepare them for more rigorous coursework with the venerable Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs.

I am under no illusion that I will produce some monumental, groundbreaking computer science and programming introduction, but I do hope to provide the resource I wish Iā€™d had when I first started getting serious about programming.

I also think Iā€™m going to learn a lot in writing this, which is honestly my primary motivation.

Programming, not web development

From the series repo:

The purpose of this series is to teach students how to write well-structured, efficient programs using the JavaScript language.

It is not a web development tutorial.

This is an important distinction. The latter will teach you how to build applications for a specific environment: a web browser and/or web server users will interact with via the browser.

These tutorials will teach you how to program, a skill that will enable you to build applications for any environment.

Thereā€™s nothing wrong with web development tutorials as such, but itā€™s crucial to have a strong programming foundation. If you know programming, you will build better web applications.

Given that web applications are the most common use for JavaScript, you will also learn a little about how to apply your programming knowledge to both client- and server-side web development, but itā€™s not the main focus.

Computer science fundamentals, with modern programming techniques

After working through these tutorials you will have a solid understanding of basic computer science: how computers work, how machines parse and execute programs, how to organize and process data, and how to evaluate and improve program efficiency.

You will also develop the basic skills needed to write programs other developers can read, understand, and work on (and sometimes that ā€œother programmerā€ will be you, 6 months in the future).

When you understand these things youā€™ll have a massive advantage over others who have only learned the framework du jour or the basics of the JavaScript language itself.

Youā€™ll also be able to apply these fundamentals to any other programming language or framework.

Series index

I. Introduction to computers, programming, and the JavaScript Language

  1. Getting started with computing and computer science (with examples in JavaScript and a fantastic-looking dessert recipe)

Originally published at https://dev.to on October 29, 2019.

--

--

Jason Barr
Simply Web Development

Developer, ADHD advocate, entrepreneur. I promote open source software, hardware, politics, & society. Most important, the greatest kid on Earth calls me Daddy.