When “His Belief” Healed “Her Self-Doubt” — A Duet

A love affair portrayed through words

Aditi Sinha
Sine Waves
3 min read1 day ago

--

Her:

I have always been
A bit too neurotic, a bit too impulsive,
A bit too strong-headed, and way too invested.
Believe me, if I were to describe myself,
I would come up with something more than “over-complicated”.

Him:

She has always been
A bit too adamant, a bit too energetic,
Is that what makes her special, and charismatic?
Believe me, I am doing my best to charm her,
Somehow nothing comes out of the feelings that I harbor.

Her:

I often wonder why.
Why do I lock these dreams inside of me?
Why do I flee from mediocrity?
What gives me the audacity to resist “herd mentality”?
Why am I trying so hard to break free?
I’m stand here shouting and revolting,
When I’ve never really had the clout to question anything?
But after all, what can you expect from a person,
Who is delusional and overly emotional?

Him:

I often wonder how.
How does she find the courage for such lofty dreams?
When the world encourages her to be devoid of any gleam.
She shows us how to live on our own terms.
Daring to questioning the authority,
because she is busy following all her principles to the tee.
You will be compelled to take her seriously,
because she refuses to people-please.
Her intensity is contagious,
Oh boy, is she fearless and tenacious!

Her:

I feel like I’m being punished,
When my only crime is defying societal norms.
Yes, I had aspired to live life on my terms.
I chose the road less traveled.
But how dare I run so fast to chase what I always wanted?
In a world that isn’t particularly welcoming,
to the sensitive and passionate?
You see, I left no stone unturned, yet
yet all my hard work is now wasted.

Him:

I can see it in her eyes,
She is determined to leave her mark behind,
She is completely free,
Except for when her swamped calendar doesn’t agree!
Given all her talents, she constantly leaves me wondering,
What is it she is going to go with..? The life of a hermit,
A billionaire, or a rockstar with a dazzling guitar?
I know she will figure it all out; she has clarity.

Her:

Very few times have I felt so alone,
With no one to truly count on,
I feel jaded, like I am drifting through the wind, defeated.
Unable to share my grief with anyone.
Can life give you a reset button when it hands you sour lemons?
Can your pain dissipate if you run and hide in a man-made cave?
Can it become easier to fake if you keep in mind
that its “one day at a time?”

Him:

She said that’s what rockstars feel,
Thousands of fans but no one who truly understands.
Is this what makes her art remarkable?
Is this what makes her different from the crowd?
Yet, she keeps forgetting that no matter what
She could always rely on me.
How does she not see?
This is just a blip in her long and arduous journey.
She’s got to believe in a better version of her reality.

Her

So, I fail and falter and twist my ankle,
Somehow muster some strength to keep edging forward,
Pacing one foot in front of the other,
Hoping someday I make it to a place
Where it would matter what I have got to say,
Where I could make some difference, for what it’s worth
despite being a speck in the vast universe.
Till then, I will keep bleeding my heart onto this paper,
Hoping my trauma and fear slowly disappear.

Him:

Look, I don’t know all the answers, but who does,
Life teaches you through its curves.
I know she will traverse the path, learn the lectures,
She will try her best to change the world’s architecture.
You’ll see her take a bow on the big stages,
Stealing the show in the spotlight.
People will queue up for her autograph,
She’ll make them proud because she defied it all.
You shouldn’t even expect any less.
For the extraordinary doesn’t stop, just take a rest.

--

--