June 20 : the story of Maksym Kaplenko, engineer

SINGA
SINGA Blog (English)
5 min readJun 20, 2024

Afghanistan, Syrie, Ukraine… en 2023, plus de 100 millions de personnes dans le monde ont été forcées à fuir leur foyer. Malgré un diplôme d’éducation supérieur en poche pour près de la moitié des personnes réfugiées en Europe (Eurostat, 2020), elles mettent environ 10 ans, une décennie entière, pour retrouver leur situation socioprofessionnelle d’origine.

Maksym Kaplenko is a young Ukrainian who, despite a degree in industrial engineering, works in the gastronomy sector in Barcelona after training to become a kitchen assistant.

Please introduce yourself and tell us about your professional background before coming to Spain.

My name is Maksym, I am from Ukraine. I graduated from university with a degree in Industrial Engineering (Bachelor’s). Immediately after graduating, I got a job as a technician at a small factory producing polyamide casings for food. I worked there for four years.

What were your biggest professional achievements in your home country?

Three years later, I was promoted to shift supervisor, and several people were under my leadership.

How long have you been living in Spain?

Since April 2022.

Why did you choose to emigrate to Spain?

I heard a guy I met on my way out of Ukraine say, “Look, Barcelona is a big, modern city, and you’ll be fine in Spain.” And I didn’t have any other options.

Have you suffered professional downgrading since your arrival?

Overall, I suffered because I felt like a child, helpless in a new world. I thought a lot about how to settle down and asked myself, “What will I be doing here?” Professionally, it’s challenging to get your diploma recognized. They tell me the process takes about four years, and that’s a lot. There’s also the language issue. I still don’t understand everything, and engineering has special terms… that’s also difficult. You need a high level of language proficiency. You can’t find professional work without the language, without experience here, and without a recognized diploma. I understood that I wouldn’t be working as I did before.

Before migrating, what were your expectations about finding work or getting your degree recognized?

I hadn’t experienced migration before, so I thought it would be easier. It’s also strange (that it’s so difficult) because my education was also in English. It was four years of translating from Ukrainian to English… but now I understand that being an engineer is on a higher level here. In my country, it’s not as highly regarded. Many people here say, “Oh, look, you’re an engineer, that’s great, it’s a high-level degree.” This was not heard in my country.

Could you tell us about that experience?

I understood from the beginning that you shouldn’t count on getting a technician or engineer position, not take it for granted that you will get it. These positions require advanced training and a high level of language proficiency, which I still don’t have. So, it was necessary to think of something realistic and without a great language demand.

Can you share a particularly difficult or frustrating moment you’ve experienced while looking for work in Spain?

I completed courses to become certified as a kitchen assistant. I wasn’t sure if I was interested, but I found out about these courses six months after my arrival. I understood that I needed to work, and the course takes less time than the four years for recognition of my diploma. It’s only three months and many hours per day. After finishing the course, I had no problems finding work. After completing the course, I got help finding a job from Mescladís, a non-profit organization that aims to contribute to social cohesion in Barcelona. So, the path I took seems easier than waiting.

What types of help have been most useful for improving your employment situation?

I found great help in the courses from Mescladís. It’s very good that the teachers understand that you’re a refugee and don’t speak perfect Spanish. They speak clearly, without rushing, and were able to explain to me repeatedly. This is very helpful. I think their courses are designed for refugees, and all courses should be like that. Of course, this also helps in finding a job. I was not responsible for finding a job after training; they found a suitable position for me. This is done for everyone after completing the courses.

What qualifications or training did you need to acquire to improve your employment prospects in Spain?

I completed a three-month cooking course of over 300 hours, after which I received a certificate. Before that, I also studied Spanish with CEAR, in their program for refugees, to reach an A2 level.

How did you deal with prejudice or stereotypes you encountered in the Spanish workplace?

The kitchen world, in general, is not easy. You have to run, there’s a high level of stress, but you don’t have to talk much, only with your team. I think not knowing the language perfectly helped me here; it was a plus because I didn’t get upset, learned new words, learned how the kitchen world works, and it gave me something to do.

What do you think are the main changes needed to improve the professional integration of refugees in Spain?

There needs to be more vocational courses for refugees. They should be accessible in terms of price and not require extensive language knowledge. Also, many people don’t have work permits; I didn’t know it was so difficult for some people, while I had it from day one. There are also many professions where people are always needed, and this is directly related. People should be allowed to work with a temporary permit.

What advice would you give to other newcomers who might experience professional downgrading in Spain?

Don’t be afraid to try new things. I think this is the most important thing.

SINGA actively supports new arrivals in Europe and Canada, helping them to rebuild their network and find a professional activity that matches their skills. SINGA offers entrepreneurial support programs, enabling newcomers to create and develop their own businesses. With 12 incubators in Europe, SINGA has supported over 2,000 entrepreneurs, 50% of whom are women. These initiatives enable ambitious projects to come to fruition, and 60% of incubated companies remain in business after three years.

__

Interview conducted as part of SINGA Global’s World Refugee Day awareness campaign on the professional downgrading of refugees on June 20.

--

--

SINGA
SINGA Blog (English)

Une société se renforce quand elle s’ouvre à la migration.