Love Your Life

Mike Mueller
Single Buddhist Dad
2 min readSep 11, 2017

--

One consequence of being the youngest child in a home with much-older brothers and busy parents was an imagination that ran rampant. Imaginary conversations were better than no conversations at all. Not always a good thing, mind you.

I would sit for hours watching out the window as each car passed and wonder about its occupants. Who were they? Where were they going? Surely their lives were more important and interesting than mine.

As I grew older this escapism undoubtedly drew me into the arts where my love of theatre flourished. I now had a license to pretend I lived someone else’s life. I loved it not because it allowed me to see myself or my connection to humanity more clearly, but because it gave me a respite from BEING me — a me that I did not much care for.

As a grown man tackling marriage, career, and parenting, I wish I could say I outgrew this need to compare my life to others, but I did not. My insecurities were more subtle and easily hidden, but I still saw others as being confident and complete, and myself as undeserving of the same compassion or consideration.

Today, I see my life differently. And I probably see yours differently, too.

Life gave me a little wake up call a few years ago, and then just to be sure I didn’t nod off again, it punched me in the gut a few times. After falling and staying on my knees for awhile, I finally stood up and brushed myself off. And then I sat.

I sat often.

Eventually, I came to a realization that I needed to make peace with my life. It’s mine. It’s unique. It’s happening right NOW and if I blink it may be gone tomorrow.

I learned to love my life and all its imperfections.

I know your life isn’t perfect, too, but don’t let it stop you from loving it. Love it with all your heart. It’s yours. All yours.

--

--

Mike Mueller
Single Buddhist Dad

A single dad at midlife trying to wake up. Also a practicing Zen Buddhist and recovering geek.